Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Frosting is delicious. It holds up well. Not as well as buttercream but for a whipped topping, It's great. Kids might not like it as much because of the tang from the cream cheese and it's not as sweet as the traditional buttercream frosting from bakeries. I added 3/4 cup sugar instead of the 1/2 cup listed. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is a great alternative to cream cheese icing! Lighter and less sweet, with the deliciousness of whipped cream added. I followed the recipe exactly and used it to frost a red velvet cake. Because of the telltale tang of cream cheese, I wouldn't recommend this as a standard "whipped cream" icing, but it is delicious anywhere you would normally use a cream cheese icing - carrot cake, banana cake, red velvet or chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Delicious. Someone asked me if there was yogurt in this frosting! It's tasty and not too sweet. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rblessedx3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Sadly, this is anything but sturdy. I am a very experienced baker and I could not get this to whip past the texture of pudding. I tried chilling it overnight and whipping again. I tried adding 2 packets of Dr. Oetker's Whipped Cream stabilizer and whipping it agian, and then I added some powdered sugar. Nothing worked. It tasted great and I didn't want to waste it, so eventually I added another block of cream cheese and then made a loose version of frozen chocolate terrine so I wouldn't have to toss it out. The terrine got rave reviews. If you can't get the frosting to whip, I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe I tried it and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This recipe held up very well over the long period of time that my cupcakes were left out. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this frosting recipe! It works the best for cupcakes. I've made this several times and everyone raves over the frosting. I usually omit the almond extract though and just add a bit more vanilla. I have also made this before and added about 2-3 Tablespoons of Bailey's for Irish cream cupcakes! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asteingruby
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I usually think the whipped frosting is somewhat flavorless, not this one! It is amazing, easy to work with and I get rave reviews from all who try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by runett
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is the best Whipped Cream Frosting!!! I get lots of compliments everytime I use it. It comes out perfect everytime! I use a stand mixer, make sure my cream cheese is at room temp, chill my mixing bowl and beaters; I omit the almond extract (I do not like the taste) I use an extra teaspoon or 3 of vanilla extract (this will darken your frosting, but the taste is so worth it). I also use Dr. Oetker Whipping Cream Stabilizer (purchased at World Market). The frosting pipes beautifully. I have also tinted the color of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 717) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States