Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
It didn't form a sturdy peak and then I kept whipping it and it is so runny you can't even use it. Not a good recipe. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
My husband loves whipped cream frosting, but I've never been able to get it right. This recipe did the trick! I used only vanilla (no almond) but other than that followed to the letter. It came out PERFECT. Made icing and iced the cakes about three hours before serving. Put cake in the fridge. Delicious! I will definitely use this recipe again and again. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
After reading all the negative reviews about it not holding stiff peaks, I used 1 cup powdered sugar instead of white sugar and it worked fine. Really held up for outdoor summer dessert I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Used Qupcake suggestions crm tartar/powdered sugar--much more than called for--not very sweet---Mom's 90th birthday party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I had no problems with this frosting. I did, however, start off with cold cream cheese. Not room temperature or softened. Be careful to stop beating the after you add the cold whipping cream as soon as the mixture gets stiff. Overbeating will cause it to break and not hold up. You must use both vanilla and almond extract, because it has sort of an odd flavor with just the vanilla. I piped the frosting onto cupcakes and they came out beautiful. It is a nice light frosting option and less sweet than traditional buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I found out the hard way that it is very important to use low-fat cream cheese. The regular cream cheese has too much oil in it and the frosting would not set up well enough to sit-up on the cupcake. It is very tasty and made a great dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I really liked how this turned out and would definitely make it again. I would consider adding less cream cheese in the future, depending on how I wanted it - as written, this is about halfway between regular whipped cream and a cream cheese frosting. I had no problems getting the cream to whip while using the instructions as written, but I did add it very very slowly and my kitchenaid was probably on med-high instead of medium speed while I was adding it. I used it as a middle layer and the outer frosting on a cake and it held up well for about two hours at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I've made this 3 times now and every time it came out perfect. My husband doesn't like very sweet frosting so this is perfect, and it's easy enough to add a little more sugar is you like it sweet. I was able to pipe it using a large ziploc bag because I didn't have a piping bag. I'm going to attempt to make a raspberry version of it today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen Trey Powers
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I will make this again and again! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Trey Powers
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Tasted good but for me it just would not whip up at all. The consistency was runny. Again this still tasted good so I just had everyone dip their cupcakes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 771) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States