Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I LOVE this recipe and have used it on carrot cakes, chocolate cupcakes, and between ginger cookies for whoopie pies. I definitely reccomend it for any cake that usually calls for cream cheese frosting and you can easily add more cream cheese or less whipping cream when I want it cream-cheesier and substitute vanilla extract or liquor for the almond extract when that seems like a better choice. Delicious and always gets lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Great taste stood up well(stable) for a couple of hours then must be refrigerated,it's cream!!! It pipped well with a wider nozzle.it whipped up fast! I would prepare and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
when you say "white sugar" do you me an confectioners sugar ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I havent tried the recipe yet but was wondering is the cream cheese flavor very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Omg! This frosting is the bomb!!!... 5 stars all the way!!! Like some of the reviews, i whipped the heavy cream separately and added my already mixed together cream cheese, 1/4 cup sugar, 1 cup powdered sugar and vanilla extract. Folded in lightly and whipped on high for a min or so..I added 1/4 corn starch as I whipped the cream. The result was fantastic! I put bowl with frosting back in my freezer for a few minutes then just scooped as I needed leaving the rest to continue to chill! It was so sturdy! I frosted my cake nicely! I have mixed some with food color gel and will be piping soon! I shall come back with the result of that one! Thanks All recipes! Don't forget to chill your bowl and whip bf! I left mine a long while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kasia2223
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This recipe turned out great! I made a chocolate cake with strawberries and it made the perfect frosting. I will certainly be using this again and possibly use this as a base for other flavor profiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lily
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This frosting is incredibly amazing. My favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This makes a delicious, not too sweet, but sweet enough frosting. I got many compliments on it. I am commenting because I first tried this recipe using the suggestions from some comments of chilling the bowl, whipping the cream separately, etc. This did not work for me! (I find it weird that the reason for beating it separately was b/c of the fat in the cream cheese...that would only hold true if you were beating egg whites. In that case, yes fat would mess up the whipping process, but heavy cream is full of fat!) Anyway...that frosting was runny. I also substituted confectioner's sugar for the granulated sugar and ended up doubling the amount to get any sweetness (are measurements different?). When I tried the recipe mostly as written (I used full fat cream cheese [b/c why skimp on a birthday cake?] and omitted the almond extract) it was perfect. It was very firm (almost firm enough to pipe) and delicious. Stick to the original recipe. Make sure you add the chilled cream at a slow, steady pace while the mixer is running. It took about 2 minutes of whipping on med. high in my standing mixer to achieve the appropriate consistency. This will be my 'go to' frosting from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I used this icing for a strawberry shortcake birthday cake. It was extremely easy to make and tastes great. It is not too heavy of an icing, or so thin that it wont stay on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Delicious!!! can I use for pipe a basket weave cake?? Is my first time making a basket but I don't like the regular buttercream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States