Stupid Simple Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I do this all of the time. It is a great recipe and my family loves it. To change up I salt the cavity with seasoning salt lightly and put in a quartered onion, a couple cloves of garlic with the lemon. Roast at 450 with the legs in first. Other times I season some olive oil with fresh garlic, thyme, Lawry's seasoning salt and a little of basil for an hour. Then just before cooking rub the dry chicken with the oil ol over the chicken; put in the stove legs in first. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisette
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Sure, the chicken was delicious, but it certainly wasn't worth the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
It was super easy, I'll give it that. The skin crisped up pretty nicely. The meat was tender, but flavorless (I even used free-range organic chicken which is supposed to have the best flavor). it was not the best roast chicken I have ever had, but it was good, and the chicken was great to add to a casserole, which was my goal. The recipe didn't state if I should put it on a rack in the roasting pan or not, so I didn't, but I did add a few celery stalks under the bird to elevate it a little...which just added a nice flavor to the drippings. It also was not clear if it should go in breast up or down...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Elliot, thank you for submitting this. I am making chicken stew, today, and wanted a basic roast chicken without frills. My lemons are kinda old so I'll probably substitute an onion. Prone to cooking extravagantly, most often opting to open Julia's Book, I am giving this five stars before setting out to cook it because I think many cooks are afraid to publish their most basic, most simple recipes and those recipes are excellent precursors for the apprehensive novice as well as for those of us who need to get back to the basics, once in a while. I'll probably loosen the skin, season and butter underneath. I can't help it. Recipes are suggestions, to me, and I find it exteremly difficult to stick to one. I'll need to keep an eye on it as I cook with smaller, organic roasters and organic chicken ALWAYS tastes more ..... chicken-y. Thanks, again, Elliot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Enjoyed the hint of lemon taste in chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Because of time, this recipe has saved me. I rubbed salt and pepper and have it sit for the next day. I've tried it with a 15 pound turkey and an extra 2 handfuls of potatoes around the sides. I uncovered 35 minutes before flipping the bird half way through and before the end of time. I got excellent comments and are surprised how much flavor the bird contains in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sufrinos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
It was BAD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
The best roasted chicken I have ever baked. I had family over so I made two and they just raved about it. Sooo easy too! Follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaclyn
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Added paprika and put onions inside. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States