Stupid Simple Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Very simple, and very juicy chicken. This was my second time making it; both times I had to run the exhaust fan because of the smoke, but it was no biggie. This time I tented foil over the chicken when it started to smoke, and that helped a great deal. I also took some advice from the reviews this time and dried the skin, then rubbed olive oil on. I don't use salt until serving as I think it draws moisture out, and I could be wrong, but the skin coated with garlic and onion powder and black pepper was nice and crispy and the whole bird was juicy. I also washed and scored a whole lemon before halving it and stuffing it into a peppered cavity. This made a big difference in flavor - the chicken had a nice lemony flavor, and the drippings made a velvety gravy with just the right amount (not too much) lemon, and pepper, too. I will be using this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Made this for dinner tonight and it was a huge hit. My mother-in-law declared this to be the best roasted chicken she's ever had! I was skeptical with so few ingredients but this was seriously amazing!! I rinsed the chx, patted dry with paper towel, brushed on some melted butter then added salt. Chopped a lemon into quarters and put them inside the chicken- is that the secret to making the meat so juicy?The bird was on the small side so 45 minutes at 450 was perfect. Don't forget to throw the bones in a crockpot afterward with some onion, carrot and celery, cook on low 12-24 hours for a delicious homemade stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Very tasty chicken that set off my smoke alarms, splattered stuff all over the bottom, front and sides of my oven. Would only make again if I have a covered roaster .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Mankey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I do this all of the time. It is a great recipe and my family loves it. To change up I salt the cavity with seasoning salt lightly and put in a quartered onion, a couple cloves of garlic with the lemon. Roast at 450 with the legs in first. Other times I season some olive oil with fresh garlic, thyme, Lawry's seasoning salt and a little of basil for an hour. Then just before cooking rub the dry chicken with the oil ol over the chicken; put in the stove legs in first. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisette
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Sure, the chicken was delicious, but it certainly wasn't worth the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
It was super easy, I'll give it that. The skin crisped up pretty nicely. The meat was tender, but flavorless (I even used free-range organic chicken which is supposed to have the best flavor). it was not the best roast chicken I have ever had, but it was good, and the chicken was great to add to a casserole, which was my goal. The recipe didn't state if I should put it on a rack in the roasting pan or not, so I didn't, but I did add a few celery stalks under the bird to elevate it a little...which just added a nice flavor to the drippings. It also was not clear if it should go in breast up or down...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Elliot, thank you for submitting this. I am making chicken stew, today, and wanted a basic roast chicken without frills. My lemons are kinda old so I'll probably substitute an onion. Prone to cooking extravagantly, most often opting to open Julia's Book, I am giving this five stars before setting out to cook it because I think many cooks are afraid to publish their most basic, most simple recipes and those recipes are excellent precursors for the apprehensive novice as well as for those of us who need to get back to the basics, once in a while. I'll probably loosen the skin, season and butter underneath. I can't help it. Recipes are suggestions, to me, and I find it exteremly difficult to stick to one. I'll need to keep an eye on it as I cook with smaller, organic roasters and organic chicken ALWAYS tastes more ..... chicken-y. Thanks, again, Elliot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Joseph Koons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Enjoyed the hint of lemon taste in chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Because of time, this recipe has saved me. I rubbed salt and pepper and have it sit for the next day. I've tried it with a 15 pound turkey and an extra 2 handfuls of potatoes around the sides. I uncovered 35 minutes before flipping the bird half way through and before the end of time. I got excellent comments and are surprised how much flavor the bird contains in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sufrinos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
It was BAD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States