Stupid Simple Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaclyn
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Added paprika and put onions inside. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I am absolutely "special" when it comes to whole chickens. Used this recipe 1st time and chicken was awesome. I stuffed it with onions and garlic like my mom would the TG turkey, patted the chicken with a paper towel to decrease water, slathered it with butter, tied up the legs/wings, seasoned it with: salt, pepper, garlic powder (nothing special), popped it in the oven with a digital thermometer (180). Chicken was moist and yummy. I think I might stop buying chicken from the store (unless I'm in a pinch for time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Really simple! Only used half a lemon as the chicken is small and baked for 50min. very moist and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Chan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I buy roasters every time I see them on sale and fill the freezer in our garage. I use this resipe all the time because it's "Stupid Simple" and great. Sometimes I follow the recipe as written, sometimes I'll put olive oil over the bird before sprinkling it with salt, pepper, garlic powder and crushed rosemary, then I'll put half an opnion and a stalk of celery (cut in half) in the cavity. If I use a five pound bird which I often do, I'll lay a sheet of foil over the bird for the first hour and take it off for the last half hour. Mmmmmm, brown and crispy outside & moist and tender inside. The aroma is enough to drive ya nuts....... Rob; Gold Canyon, AZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
added a 1/2 stick of butter to the chicken cavity.... very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This recipe is amazingly easy and amazingly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CFlott
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
A perfect roasted chicken. With mashed potatoes a very easy weeknight meal. Roasted it with carrots and celery as someone suggested and it added a nice flavor to gravy, as well as provided a vegetable for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I've made this many times now. This chicken is delicious. The only things I put in/on the chicken are lemon and salt and it comes out perfectly done every time - moist, crispy skin, and cooked all the way through. I prepare the chicken in the morning to just throw it in the oven in the evening. Clean it, put it in my roasting dish while I chop some veggies, then dump out the liquid out and pat it dry with paper towels. I put carrots, savoy cabbage and celery on the bottom of a casserole dish (sometimes baby potatoes too), then rest the chicken (breast side up) on top of the veggies. I stick the casserole dish in the fridge uncovered for the rest of the day. In the evening I bake the chicken as directed. Keeps coming out PERFECT. The veggies underneath make for flavorful sides (I discard the celery - it's mushy - but the cabbage, carrots and potatoes are divine). I use the drippings from the chicken (and the juices from the plate where the chicken rests, too) to make a yummy gravy. Just add water and flour to thicken it. If I want more gravy for leftovers, I add extra water and throw in a chicken bouillon cube. Thanks for the super simple roast chicken recipe! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States