Stupid Hot Dog Thing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. Three and a half cups of milk right? I've must have read that measure ten times now. Even when I was putting three and a half cups of milk in I thought - this can't be right! So now I've got a soupy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This recipe was easy and hearty. The weather has been awful, and it was nice to have a really good, stick-to-your-ribs dinner, after a hard day at work. My husband and I thank you, for a tasty change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissysno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Lawrence, New York, USA
Living In: West Monroe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is SO much fun!!! It totally reminds me of a spiffed up version of my favorite childhood lunch! I used to beg for macaroni with hotdogs and ketchup! I love the name and the inspiration behind it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Simple flavor; comfort food & kid-friendly! This is a fun dish that you will like if you've even had a hot dog with mac & cheese on the side! :) I made a 1/2 batch & I added 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp pepper, 1tbsp parsley flakes, & 1/2 tsp onion & herb Mrs Dash. I goofed & forgot to saute the hot dogs & the mix was a tiny bit soupy, so I put it all into a 2Qt casserole dish & baked it with some sharp cheddar cheese on top for 20 minutes. I'd also reccomend increasing the hot dogs...they got kind of lost in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Not too bad...really easy to make. Kelsi loved it! Almost too much Velveta...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I had to modify this slightly because I didn't have any milk on hand. Instead I used Ragu Cheddar Sauce and kept everything else the same and this turned out fantastic! For the tomato I used Prego's Veggie Smart and it gave it a nice flavor. my picky 2 year old even had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
not my thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This really wasn't bad. Everyone else in my family really liked it more than I did. My main issue was more about texture than flavor. The flavor was much better than I expected - and to have something that my step-son enjoyed was nice for a change. We followed the recipe closely to get a good idea of what we thought about it. We did use only 3c milk, and whole wheat pasta, but that was the only changes we made. We cooked the macaroni for only 5min separately then drained & added to the cheese mix to let the pasta finish in the mix and absorb some of that liquid & flavor. I would suggest using a flavorful tomato sauce to give it more flavor, I think that's why my guys enjoyed it as well as they all seem to love pasta. I would really like to use half the velveeta and 1c shredded cheddar next time and see how that affects the texture. Also I would really love to brown onion, peppers & garlic with the hotdogs. We'll have this again, it is quick and the guys enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This review is mainly in response to a previous post. To use such words as "thoroughly uninspired" and "sadly lacking" to describe this dish, is snobbish and in bad taste. If you are going to compare macaroni and hot dogs to an extensive knowledge on Italy and fine Italian cuisine, then please just avoid this site all together. There is no need for such arrogance. I have worked as a chef in many restaurants, preparing elegant dishes daily. Guess what my lunch often consisted of........ HOT DOGS AND MACARONI!! It's delicious. This recipe is good as is. For some palates you may need a little variation but overall I approve. It hits the spot. Buon Appetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Yummy. I need to suce the sause in half next time it made to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States