Stuffy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is most holy delicious!!!! We have been eating sandwiches like this for years in my family. It's a tradition in itself!!! Was looking for an entirely different recipe, saw this one, and had to come and rave about it! You can use any style bread or condiment on it! Some in my house prefer it with mayo or mustard O_o To each is their own :D Great great great recipe. So glad to see it shared on AR!!!!! Thanks Elaine for posting it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Ooooooh is right! This is my FAVORITE way to enjoy Thanksgiving leftovers!!! There really is no rhyme or reason to this. I NEVER measure anything. I just pile on the goodies until I'm satisfied with the result lol! :) I drizzle a little gravy over the turkey FIRST, then top with stuffing and more gravy. Sometimes I'll serve these babies open faced on homemade stuffing bread and substitute mashed taters in lieu of stuffing (it just depends on what I have handy). I slather my stuffy's with a GENEROUS amount of HERB mayo for a little added zip. TIP: I like to use French rolls if I'm making samies in the oven. I plop them on a cookie sheet and warm them while my oven is preheating. I find that 6 minutes or so works like a charm. My rolls are slightly crusty (like a brown n' serve dinner roll) and oh so yummy!!! I then add all of my fixin's, wrap with foil and bake as directed. Everyone I've ever made these for RAVES and can't believe they're eating LEFTOVERS haha! Thanks SO much for sharing this great idea with the AR community, Elaine! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
So good....use a leftover dinner roll so it was a mini version. Also added a little bit of mashed potato. I think the mayo kinda makes it. Messy but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
We already do this with our turkey the next day after thanksgiving. The recipe does not call for mashed potatoes but the picture had it so we add some. Next time will just stick to our usual of turkey, gravy, stuffing and maybe add cranberry sauce. Just microwaved everything to save on energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPestana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Love freezer leftovers! I had a fair amount of gravy left so did open faced and swimming in it cuz gravy is the best part! Little or no gravy I go for the bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was a brilliant way to use Thanksgiving leftovers. I didn't have any gravy left, so I mixed the turkey with mayo first and then mixed in the stuffing. I added cheese to the top as well so it made it a kind of melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My family has been eating this sandwich for 2 generations. There is a fantastic sandwich shop in Tucson Az and they made a killing with the "Sunshine" which is the same as this one but with a toasted multi-grain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cooperstown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I've had about five of these this weekend. This is my favorite part of the whole turkey dinner. Awesome on rolls and on sliced country white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
We just LOVE these sandwiches, infact packed ours to carry home from our childrens home yesterday. It was great not to cook when we got home. Just warmed some squash soup that my daughter prepared...and wala dinner! What I typically do is combine equal parts of whole cranberry sauce and mayonaise (or to taste) and keep it in the fridge for most of our coldcut sandwich~YUMMY!! Hope you had a YUMMY Thanksgivingm with many things to be thankful for...we did...life, good health and certainly our family! (our pets too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This sandwich is a must for Thanksgiving leftovers! Sometimes, depending on my mood and what's left, I'll sub mayo for the gravy, or use a nice hearty sliced bread instead of a hoagie roll, and that's yummy too! I think that I anticipate leftovers so much just because we get to enjoy these sandwiches the next day, lol. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States