Stuffing Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I'm glad that I read the reviews on this first, although I knew something was amiss with the water/rice proportions. I did use chicken broth to cook my rice in, and I did reverse the rice and liquid measurements. I used Johnsonville's All Natural Ground Mild Sausage which was perfect with this. Otherwise, I followed the directions as given. This makes a really good side dish year round when you are having roast chicken or the half breast turkey that we have so often. Thanks for a wonderful dish. I wish they would fix the recipe so that others would know about the error! Thanks, Christy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe. I made it on Christmas Day and it was a huge hit with my family. After reading other reviews, the only change I made was with the water/rice which did seem to be switched as originally written. Other than that, no changes. It was fabulous!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I usually don't like stuffing, but this had me coming back for seconds. Even hubs said it was right up there with his mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this for my husband's family this year and everyone LOVED it! only substituted the chicken broth with veg. broth as my father in law cannot eat poultry in any form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Wait-how can you have one cup of water to 2 1/2 cups rice? Are the proportions mixed up? It is usually one cup of wild rice to 3 cups of water. This will burn up in 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made this last year for thanksgiving with my inlaws there was 35 of us I adjusted for 30 servings and had a lot left over but had to give the recipe to 3 other families for there upcoming thanksgiveing dinners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Granger, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I believe that this recipe is incorrect as written, with the water and rice quantities reversed -- it should be 1 cup wild rice and 2-1/2 cups water. There isn't anywhere close to enough liquid in this recipe to properly cook 2-1/2 cups of wild rice and also moisten all of that bread. With that change, this is a 5 star recipe, and I don't normally even like stuffing. Some other minor modications that I make: I cook the rice in the chicken broth plus 1 cup of water (don't drain any excess after cooking the rice), then add the rest of the water at the end. That seasons the rice more effectively. I also reduce the salt and pepper slightly, 1-1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp pepper, and use low sodium chicken broth. I love salt (my wife thinks I use too much), but this recipe is just a bit too heavy on salt without those changes. I also simplify some of the quantities to 2 medium onions, 4 large stalks celery, 8 oz mushrooms, and 12 slices of bread. The result is about the same as the quantities (in cups) shown, but I think this makes shopping and prep easier. When combining the final mixture, add additional water (up to about 2 more cups) until the mixture is well moistened but there is no standing liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I thought this recipe was delicious. A little dry tho, so i just added extra stock and an egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
L-O-V-E this recipe! I generally dont like stuffing and since this was my first Thanksgiving as the cook I decided to try a new stuffing recipe and this was a winner!! Everyone raved about it. I skipped the celery because I cant stand celery and instead of raisins I used craisins which made it all the better! Also, I didn't peal the apples which added a beautiful color to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
So great! Loved it., It brough the hoilday cheer to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States