Stuffed and Baked Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I LIKE TO MAKE MY RICE IN V-8 JUICE RATHER THAN WATER, ALSO ADDING CRUMBLED BACON OR A BIT OF SAUSAGE IS A GREAT IDEA, AND MOZZARELLA OF COURSE! VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
As written, I thought this was bland (hence the 3 stars). I made some changes, which made the tomatoes very tasty. I cooked the rice in chicken broth. I doubled the onion and garlic, and sauteed both. I also added basil, oregano, and grated Romano cheese to the filling. I had a feeling the filling would be dry, so about 10 minutes before the tomatoes were done cooking, I spooned about 1-2 TBSP of the tomato juice (from the pulp) over the filling. Not sure if that was necessary. Next time I will try adding feta cheese to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L.A
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I thought it was great! I absolutely loved it and will totally make this again. I added feta cheese to it other than that I stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Added chopped cooked bacon and shredded mozzarella to the stuffing and cooked for 20 min. then sprinkled more cheese on top for the last 5 min. Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
So easy to make! I did add in ground chorizo & cheese into the rice mixture. It was so delicious!!! I used everything fresh from the farmer's market (including cheese & chorizo). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Not bad, I've never had stuffed or baked tomatoes like this and I was quite surprised at how good they were. I think these are missing something maybe it is some meat? They are a little bland but still tasty! They kind of reminded me of stuffed green peppers for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
these were quite good... I did use more green pepper and onion then the recipe called for and I'm glad I did. It is a little on the blah side so next time I think maybe I will put shredded cheese on top or something of that nature. Super easy to make and I will make them again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I love stuffed tomatoes, but I think I prefer them with some meat in there (chopped up sausage or bacon). Needs a flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This is a good base recipe, but as written, we found it a bit bland. I should have followed my instincts and sauteed the garlic before mixing with the stuffing. The garlic did not cook during baking and raw garlic is not one of my favorite things. Good start, just not great for us. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was very good. I did use the smaller tomatoes I had on hand. I took some people's advice and added mozzarella cheese tot he mix. Since I had more basil on hand I used that too, and a red pepper instead of green. Brown rice instead of white was just as good and all in all this was a great and adaptable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States