Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I thought this was delicious but I did make quite a few changes. I didn't use any of the canned soup or tomatos. My husband is alergic to wheat so I also left out the bread crumbs. I did spoon on marinara sauce in leu of those ingredients and used both colby jack and parmesan cheese and I also used both zucchini and yellow squash. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Definately doesn't need the tomato soup and water. I just used canned diced tomatoes and it didn't get "soupy" like other people said. I also browned the meat and onions together first so it cooked in 40 minutes, no problem. I added mozzarella to the top after 30 minutes. One of my family's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Really great recipe, I make it once a week. I use vegetarian ground beef instead of the 1/2 beef 1/2 sausage mix and pasta sauce on top instead of the tomato mixture to avoid it from becoming too soupy. As long as you cover it in the oven, it doesn't dry out. As others stated there are no seasonings in the recipe so i suggest browning the meat with some garlic and adding some basil and oregano to the filling. I've had a lot of fun making it a little different each time I make it, but it's such a great base that it always turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is a great ground beef meal; which I'm always looking for new ones! I of course made a few changes or else I don't think there would have been enough flavor for our taste (that's just how I roll). The biggest difference in how I prepared it is that I used a pound of ground beef/deer that was pre-cooked (I pre-cook about 6 lbs of it at a time, portion it and freeze it to save time). I would think that preparing it raw like a meat loaf would leave a lot of grease behind, but maybe that's just me. I added minced garlic, a pinch of salt and pepper and Italian herbs to the mixture. I omitted the sausage since I didn't have any on hand and honestly, there wouldn't have been room for it in the "boats". I also omitted the onions since my husband doesn't like them. I also added a pinch of sugar, salt, pepper, garlic powder and Italian herbs to the tomato sauce and next time to save me time I'll just use jar speghetti sauce which will probably taste better anyways. I also added a ridiculous amount of mozzerella cheese 30 minutes into baking and baked it until bubbly (about 10-15 min. more). This is a fantastic way to use up zucchini when you have an overabundance of it in the garden! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen 49:20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Yummy. We had to bake this about 40 min. longer, because when we pulled it out of the oven, the meat wasn't cooked all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
This was a pretty tastey meal. I used about half the removed seed mixture, and added a clove of garlic, fresh basil, and partially cooked rice, the rice gave it a little more bulk. Half way thru baking, I sprinkled with parmesan and it turned out delicious. It's not a real quick meal, but the results are well worth it. Another way to stuff the zuke, would be to cut off the stem end, and insert a filet knive, cutting out the insides, and a spoon for the very bottom, it makes for a cool presentation. I didn't do that with this recipe, but have with other ones. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I like this recipe for a base but I made some changes after making it once. I found it to be rather bland so I made the following changes for my personal preference. I substitute pasta sauce for crushed tom & condensed soup. I add garlic and italian seasonings. I top with mozzarella/Parmesan cheese. I make sure to garlic salt and pepper zucchini before stuffing. I brown the meat in a pan because I prefer to drain the fat of the meat. Bake in 9x13 for 25 minutes or until warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
My husband and I both really enjoyed this recipe. I used sweet Italian basil sausage and it was great! (I had to but Johnsonville sausages and then take the sausage out of the casings, since WalMart didn't carry regular italian sausage) What a great alternative to stuffed peppers! I think next time I am going to try turkey italian sausage, since I am doing Weight Watchers and my husband low carb, to make it good for both of us. I'll let you know how it goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This was pretty good. However, I used ground turkey and sausage and the turkey just didn't have enough flavor. I would only use ground beef for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
This was very good. I used hot italian sausage and that really added some zip. My husband does not like zucchini so I stuffed some green peppers also. Did have to cook this a little longer than 45 minutes, but I covered it with foil the last 30 minutes because the veggies were starting to dry up. Overall a very good filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Dradi Malloy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States