Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
this is all in all a great recipe. i gave it 4 stars because there are a few changes i would make next time. i substituted tomato soup for tomato sauce, and next time i don't think i would add as much water, maybe 1/4 c. rather than a full cup. also, the meat was very bland, next time i will add some fresh garlic, definitely some salt, maybe some italian seasonings, etc. mozzarella or parmesan cheese would have given it a nice kick, too. i also had to bake it for about an hour and a half, turned the heat up to 400 after the 1st 30 minutes or so and covered it with foil the last 30 minutes. it wouldn't cook!! but my husband RAVED. he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Definately doesn't need the tomato soup and water. I just used canned diced tomatoes and it didn't get "soupy" like other people said. I also browned the meat and onions together first so it cooked in 40 minutes, no problem. I added mozzarella to the top after 30 minutes. One of my family's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I added a little cheese on top of mine and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monahans, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Fabulous! I added mushrooms & used sharp cheddar cheese & provolone on top! Huge success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I actually made my own tomato sauce by using tomato puree, a can of diced tomatoes, onions and my favorite seasonings. A little more ambitious than what the origional recipe called for but awsome. Watch out for the meat though. If you use a not so lean meat your sauce will seem to double. Very good. A keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
My family tried this recipe just as it was created. I was like soup, it was flat tasting and the sausage stuffing fell out of the zucchini as soon as you lifted it from the dish. No one was impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynn58

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This truely is a great recipe. I served brown rice and seasoned green beans with it. The flavor was mouth watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
There are no spices in this recipe. I wish I would have noticed this before I started cooking this waste of moderately expensive meat. The meat mixture requires garlic, salt, pepper, and maybe worchestershire, but I wouldn't know for sure because I would have to make it again - and that ain't happening. Sorry, I just like my food to taste like something other than just plain meat on a plain vegetable. Also, mince the onions - chopped onions are too big. But, hey, dozens of other people gave this recipe a great rating. I'm probably wrong. You should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I thought this was delicious but I did make quite a few changes. I didn't use any of the canned soup or tomatos. My husband is alergic to wheat so I also left out the bread crumbs. I did spoon on marinara sauce in leu of those ingredients and used both colby jack and parmesan cheese and I also used both zucchini and yellow squash. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I topped with parmesan and provolone cheeses the last 10 minutes of baking. The dish looked really nice and sounded so interesting and unique in the recipe. Alas, it was very bland and with the combination of the beef & tomato sauce..just tasted like a meat sauce for spaghetti. The flavor of the zucchini was completely lost. I have a 3 because it wasn't un-eatable..but not worth the effort to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States