Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is a great ground beef meal; which I'm always looking for new ones! I of course made a few changes or else I don't think there would have been enough flavor for our taste (that's just how I roll). The biggest difference in how I prepared it is that I used a pound of ground beef/deer that was pre-cooked (I pre-cook about 6 lbs of it at a time, portion it and freeze it to save time). I would think that preparing it raw like a meat loaf would leave a lot of grease behind, but maybe that's just me. I added minced garlic, a pinch of salt and pepper and Italian herbs to the mixture. I omitted the sausage since I didn't have any on hand and honestly, there wouldn't have been room for it in the "boats". I also omitted the onions since my husband doesn't like them. I also added a pinch of sugar, salt, pepper, garlic powder and Italian herbs to the tomato sauce and next time to save me time I'll just use jar speghetti sauce which will probably taste better anyways. I also added a ridiculous amount of mozzerella cheese 30 minutes into baking and baked it until bubbly (about 10-15 min. more). This is a fantastic way to use up zucchini when you have an overabundance of it in the garden! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen 49:20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I'm giving this four stars because I felt like I had to make a lot of revisions for flavor, but after those it is most definitely a five and something I will make again for sure! As another reviewer said, this is just like meatloaf, but more interesting, tasty, and healthy! I did not use the sausage, just 1 lb of ground beef, and it barely all fit in 4 medium zucchinis. I don't know how 2 lbs of meat would fit - maybe my onion was really big and that made up for it? For flavor, I added 2 t of garlic, 1 t pepper, 1/2 t salt, and 1 T Italian herbs. Instead of tomato soup, I used a portabello/red wine chunky marinara sauce - highly recommended! The last 15 minutes, I added about a cup of mozzarella cheese on the top. I baked for an hour, because the onions weren't soft enough after 45 min - but it was still incredibly moist. I think one of the best parts of this was that you don't have to brown anything first, saving you the pan and the extra 20 min. Love how easy and delicious this is! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was a good recipe. I cut the recipe in half and used only hot Italian sausage. I omitted the tomato soup and water. I put some of the crushed tomatoes on the bottom of the pan, mixed most of it in with the meat, and poured a little over the top of the stuffed zucchinis. I also added some chopped garlic to the filling. Topped with a shredded Italian cheese blend and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was good! I will make again, maybe with a tastier tomato sauce, I didn't care for the way it came out. My husband is not a zucchini eater and this recipe did not change his mind. I still liked it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Used this for a giant zucchini that was hiding in my garden. Nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I'm giving this 4 stars because I changed a bunch. I did not use the "guts" that I scooped out, and I replaced the tomatoes and soup with my homemade marinara sauce. I also microwaved the zuchini for 5 minutes with a little water before "gutting" and filling. It turned out pretty good, a good and healthy way to use up those zucchini from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
this recipe was wonderful. we had it for dinner last night. i made a few changes though. first, i used squash and zucchini. next, i omitted the tomatoes and soup. i instead used a large can of tomato puree and added garlic, oregano, basil and red pepper flakes to it. nstead of water, i used a dry red wine. it came out wonderful. we will definately be having this agin. i brought the leftovers to work and my co-workers all loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I par boiled the squash, then scooped out the guts, drained the guts, patted the insides dry, added less than half the guts in to stuffing mixture - used ONLY bulk pork sausage (tastes like breakfast links), no tomato anything, garlic, more SEASONED bread crumbs, two eggs, and PARMESAN CHEESE to and on the stuffing after spooning back in the squash. Takes less time to cook, and tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bikerchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I changed this recipe a little. I substituted marinara sauce for the crushed tomatoes and soup, added a sm, ground zucchini in place of seeds in the filling, added lemon marjorim and parsley,worcestershire sauce, garlic, and for the sausage I used spicy italian. I also cut and added half a wedge of monteray jack and colby cheese for the top. My dh loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This recipe was great. The zucchini at our store at the time was very small, not big enough to stuff so we just cut it up and put it in with the meat, like a casserole. We didn't use italian sausage either, the store was out so we subed charizo sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAXSMOM1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States