Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was wonderful! Even my zucchini hating husband enjoyed it. I added garlic to the meat and tipped with Parmesan and mozzarella in the last 15 min of baking. I thought the sauce was wonderful. Didn't taste like canned soup one bit! Also, I didn't add any water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was very good. These are the modifications I did: add garlic, basil and oregano no tom soup brown meat and onion first and reduce cook time add parm cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Used tomato sauce instead - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I needed a base recipe for stuffed zucchini as the neighbor gave us one that is HUGE. I sliced the zucchini in lengthwise boats and removed all of the huge seeds. I placed them in the oven at 425 to cook them down a bit due to their size. Meanwhile, I sauteed 1/4 of a sweet onion and 3 cloves of garlic in a pan. Once browned, I added my pork and beef mixture. I took out the onions and garlic and set aside as I figured the meat would accumulate grease. I seasoned the mix with crushed red pepper flakes, oregano, fresh basil, and s+p. I cooked the mix until browned. I added back the onion and garlic that I had set aside once the pan was drained. I put the drained mixture into a bowl. I added 1/2 a heirloom tomato with some juice, 1/4 cup parm cheese, breadcrumbs, and 1 egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by > AE <

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orefield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Delicious. I made these adjustments. Instead of bread crumbs used potato flakes. (we are a wheat free) and instead of crushed tomatoes, soup and water used a large jar of black bean and corn salsa. Topped off with sharp cheddar cheese. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaMazz
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Recipe didn't make much sense, so I followed my own common sense and suggestions from others - browned meats first with onion and garlic. Added parmesan cheese to stuffing. Topped with a lot of jarred tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese. Had to cook for 10 min covered to "steam" zucchini to be sure they were done. This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaMazz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Colonia, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I sprinkle them with a little grated Parmesan and shredded Cheddar or Mexican cheese blend during the last 5-7 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I like this recipe for a base but I made some changes after making it once. I found it to be rather bland so I made the following changes for my personal preference. I substitute pasta sauce for crushed tom & condensed soup. I add garlic and italian seasonings. I top with mozzarella/Parmesan cheese. I make sure to garlic salt and pepper zucchini before stuffing. I brown the meat in a pan because I prefer to drain the fat of the meat. Bake in 9x13 for 25 minutes or until warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Meh - just okay. Used sausage and that added a lot of flavor but recipe is missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Good! Used hot Italian sausage and NO ground beef. I also cooked the stuff in a pan before packing it into the zucchini and had no problem with time (adding bread crumbs and the egg after cooking of course). I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States