Stuffed Zucchini with Chicken Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was delicious! I made a few changes based on what I had on hand that turned out rather well. First, I had Italian zucchini ( we call them hand gernades) so I hollowed them out and stuffed them with the filling. Before placing them in the oven, I brushed the outsides with olive oil. Next, I didn't have chicken sausage so I poached a chicken breast with garlic and onion and shredded it. Then I added Italian seasoning to the mixture since the meat did not have the sausage seasoning. Finally, I was low in parmesan cheese, so I threw in some mazzarella. They were amazing! My husband doesn't typically like veggies and he loved it! I served it with pasta and tomato sause and garlic bread. I am actually going to be making this again tonight! Thanks for an awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was delicious. The sweet squash was a nice counter to the heat of the pepper. The only thing I changed was to use squash I found at a fall farmer's market and cut back on the red pepper flakes. Also, I cut the squash in half, microwaved them for about 7 minutes, covered, with a little water and then stuffed them and baked them for 1/2 hour. I used this as a main dish, but they were small portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made some tweaks only because my 2 zucchini were quite small, and this recipe didn't steer me wrong! I basically halved all the other ingredients, left out zucchini in the stuffing mix, used dried basil (1/2 tsp, plus a 1/2 tsp dried oregano), and left the garlic at the full 3 cloves. We couldn't find just one link of chicken sausage, so we used regular Italian sausage. Oh boy was this tasty! One last tweak, I didn't want to try and use just a part of a can of tomatoes, so I used 1 large Roma tomato, finely diced and tossed it in with the onions to cook them down. Deglazing the pan with chicken broth is a taste booster as well. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TALULABELLE28
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
LOVED THIS!! my whole family enjoyed it (they are big zucchini fans) and the extra crunch from the bread crumbs/parmesan cheese make it so delish. i had a lot of stuffing left, and i followed the measurements exactly. i stuffed 3 zucchinis and only cut up two of the slices of zucchini for the stuffing. i still need to figure out how to calculate the measurements so i won't have so much leftover. i will just be using the leftover for a brunch scramble tomorrow. i also used a diced roma tomato since i didn't want too many juices from canned tomato. i will be making this regularly and more servings! we did not have enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALULABELLE28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! Perfect blend of flavors. I was wondering if this would fill me up since it's vegetable based but it definitely did the trick! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was easy.... I doubled the receipe and have plenty for a total of 16 boats... it is very spicy with the crushed red pepper... Lovin it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlettetexas@yahoo.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was absolutely amazing! I don't cook much and the recipe was easy to follow and tasted wonderful. The only change I would be make is to add a few additional Zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I'm glad I read the reviews that mentioned the amount of leftover stuffing. I used 4 medium zucchini and the amount of stuffing was perfect. I also used Italian turkey sausage because that was all i could find. 2 teaspoons of crushed red pepper might be too much for most people, but my husband and I spicy food so it was delicious to us. This is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Very tasty, but there is way too much stuffing. I sprinkled some Parmesan on top last few minutes of baking. I agree it would also make a nice appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I love this recipe! I'll use small yellow squash or zucchini so everyone gets a whole squash and at the end of baking I will melt a slice of provolone or mozzerella over each. Add crusty bread and a glass of vino and you have a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States