Stuffed Zucchini with Chicken Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
REALLY good! We added spaghetti sauce to the top for the kids. Then, we loved it and do it with ours too. It was A VERY hot day. So, i put foil on a baking sheet and bake on indirect heat on the BBQ. Worked amazing. I will be making these again and again. What a great was to get the family to eat veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
for 2 people use only 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I made this last night out of one HUGE zucchini that had been hiding in my garden. I had three links of hot Italian sausage in the freezer so I used it. I didn't need the 1 tablespoon of crushed red pepper that I added, but it was still good, though a little spicy. Taking the advice of other reviewers who said the zucchini didn't get soft enough in 35 minutes, I microwaved both the chopped and the "boated" zucchini (separately) for a couple of minutes. My zucchini was so large, that it helped to steam the boats for a minute or two in the suggested chicken broth. And in response to the reviewer who said the stuffing was gooey, I was careful not to overmix it, and for the last 5 minutes of baking, I upped it to 390 degrees to make sure I got the crunch. This one is a keeper. Oh, in terms of what size and number of zucchini to use, just base it on the number of people you need to feed, and adjust the proportions of ingredients accordingly. My huge zucchini, which would have fed at least four people, worked well with the proportions listed, although I did use three links of sausage (mainly because I just wanted to use it up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bbglo
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Given all of the reviews about there being too much spice and filling, I adjusted accordingly. I used 3 large squash and cut them in half so I was able to use up all of the mixture (baked plain for about 12 mins to soften them, as suggested). I too was confused with the directions to cut 3/4 slices, so instead used some of the flesh and the ends. I like spicy foods (not super spicy) so I bought hot & spicy Italian chicken sausage and only used 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes. This was hot enough for me. If I had bought sweet Italian sausage, I would have used about 1 tbsp. 2 tbsp would have been overkill. Grilled them for about 25 mins. Very tasty, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These were tasty and I stayed pretty true to the original recipe: I used regular Italian sausage (I just can't with chicken and turkey sausage; I've tried and tried to like it and just don't) and I used a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes that I already had on hand. I read reviews that the zucchini boats were too hard/not done so I put them EMPTY in a pre-heated oven in a foil covered pan for 25 minutes until they were fork tender, then I stuffed them, then popped them in for another 15 minutes. I'm low carbing it, so next time I think I'll try cooked quinoa instead of bread crumbs. We'll see how that goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This was just wonderful...I used summer squash fresh from the garden. Followed the recipe pretty closely but substuted hot turkey sausage for the chicken sausage. It just adds more punch. Also used chopped fresh tomato instead of canned tomato...like others I had extra stuffing which was a blessing..stuffed heirloom tomatoes which had been scooped out (used the center for stuffing)...will certainly make this again..very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I doubled the recipe because I had a lot of zucchini. This was very good and easy to make. I also used the stuffing part inside green peppers and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Directions little confusing for novice cook. Couldn't I include the scooped out flesh with the other dressing ingredients????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very tasty. Loved the filling. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I make a variation of this recipe. This is a great way to use those giant zucchinis you didn't see growing in the garden. I cut in half, scoop out the seeds and nuke for a couple of minutes to soften a but. Then stuff with sausage. Put in casserole and top with stewed or crushed tomatoes and cheese and bake until zucchini gets soft, around 30-45 minutes. Not a favorite of my husband's but he'll eat it. I have assembled this the night before and baked when I got home from work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States