Stuffed Zucchini I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I'm really rating the idea of this dish, because I changed it. I didn't cook them in the boiling water. I hollowed them and scooped the pulp out raw. Chopped the pulp and sauted it in a little olive oil. Then added the bread crumbs and browned them in the pan with the zucchini pulp. I added a little oregano and basil, and cooled the filling. I then added about 2oz of cheddar cheese and 2oz mozzarella. Stuffed the raw "boats", sprinkled with parm. cheese, put in a baking pan with a little water on the bottom and baked in a hot oven. They held their shape nicely, but were tender. I omitted the onion, salt, eggs, and butter. My three childred loved them, and were actually fighting over the last one! Maybe I should just submit this as a new recipe. Now I'll have another recipe to use for that windfall of summer zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
317 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I made this recipe with a 5 POUND zucc i grew in my garden. My sister came over and everyone enjoyed it very much. We followed the recipe, adding a bit here and there to account for the size of the veggie. It was easy to alter for amount, we didnt even really measure...other than to be sure we used at least what was in the recipe and roughly double for the size. We did add sausage for my hubby and everyone was pleased. We also sprinkled cheddar and bread crumbs on the top to give it a yummy crunchy coating, but the recipe was great as it stood! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurora Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I made this recipe for my family last night and it was a huge hit. I had read the posted reviews about lack of flavor, so I used crushed seasoned croutons instead of bread crumbs, and added a clove of minced garlic to the filling. It was very flavorful and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Like others before me, I made this a bit differently. I didn't boil the zucchini. Instead, I cut it in half, scooped out the seeds and tossed them. Then I scooped out the pulp and chopped it up, leaving a semi-thin shell. I sauted the pulp in olive oil with garlic and onion. Next, I added some fresh basil, fresh parsley and dried oregano. For color, I tossed in diced fresh tomato. Next, I added about 1 tbsp. butter, bread crumbs, shredded cheddar and mozzarella cheeses. Stuff the zucchini halves. Then I put them in a baking dish with some water in the bottom and baked them at 350 for 30 min. I thik next time I'll use fewer bread crumbs and try adding in more tomato and maybe even some fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I didn't have cheddar cheese so omitted it. Also omitted salt. Added ground turkey and shredded carrots in the filling to make a main dish. I've made this several times already and my 2 year old can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I liked this recipe because it had simple ingredients and good presentation. A helpful note might be to remember that if your zucchini is small in size you'll greatly reduce the suggested boiling time. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
Very tasty, although next time I will use only half as much salt. Delicious as a vegetarian meal, but it is also good with browned ground beef added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Great and easy. Didn't have cheddar on hand, so used mozarella instead. But I used italian seasoned pkgd bread crumbs and was WAY too salty. But I am certain they will be great if I use regular bread crumbs and omit at least half the salt. I am looking forward to making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
We added a pound of hamburger. My husband really liked this, but we both think it doesn't taste as good when the leftovers are reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rfornelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Excellent way to use squash--I used yellow squash and reduced the boiling time a bit. Like another reviewer, I sauted the inside of the squash with onion, garlic, mushroom, red pepper, fresh corn, fresh basil, oregano , and parsley. I reduced the bread crumbs a bit to compensate. These were filling delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States