Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Very good. I used bulk Italian sausage instead of pork. I also par cooked the zucchini in the microwave before stuffing it. I did not mix the zucchini in with the sausage. Will make again with my alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I definitely agree with some of the other people that say you should cook the sausage prior to putting it all in and cooking it in the oven, maybe cook it a few minutes on the stovetop first so the sausage is more done, otherwise you have to wait forever for it to cook in the oven and it makes the zucchini harden and not taste as good. I would make it again, but I would cook the sausage almost till done then put it in the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augustina Boyer-Redman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I followed the directions exactly since I don't believe it is appropriate to rate something to which you have made adjustments. My husband is pretty easy to please and he is always complimentary of my cooking. But tonight, he really made a fuss over how great this recipe was. When I suggested adding something the next time, he told me not to change a thing...he loved it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
We really enjoyed this stuffed zucchini. I did grill the zucchini for about 10 minutes before I stuffed it, just to soften it a bit, as I had browned the sausage beforehand as others stated. It offered a wonderful flavor! While we liked it as the recipe states, I think next time I will add roasted red peppers to it and maybe some fresh mozzarella on top. The shredded mozzarella seemed a little dry to us, and I think it had to do with the bread crumb combination. We'll definitely make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
was delicious. only way i would do zucchini is 2 stuff it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Made as stated and served over rice. It was awesome and everyone loved it! Next time I will add some spices and up the garlic. Also because everyone wound up cutting it and mixing it with the rice I will just forego all the boat making and slice the boats up in the mixture or maybe slice them and put them on the bottom and then serve it over rice. Might even make it like that it my big slow cooker. Great recipe will be cooking if often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chammack

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I used beef instead of pork, used a putanesca sauce and cover with pepper jack cheese!! I would add salt and pepper next time inside the meat and not add the seeds (for the kids sake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is one of the best meals I have made in a long time and it is really easy too, which is always a plus! It has all the yummy Italian favors that you love without needing to add the extra carbs of the noodles. I didn't change anything about the recipe except a little extra garlic and some red pepper flakes for heat. I used hot Italian sausage and Newmans Own pasta sauce and it turned out really well! The zucchini were a little crunchy still, but I liked the texture it gave the meal. That way it wasn't just one big mushy mess. I didn't pre-cook the sausage or the squash and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. I live alone, so leftovers are a big part of my life. These are great leftover! I added chopped onions to mine. Also, do not use an entire jar of spaghetti sauce. I used maybe 1/2 or 1/3. Also, there is not enough room to use 1 lb of ground beef. I did not brown the beef before hand. It cooks fine in the oven. I also used three times the amount of garlic. I also used extra cheese. This recipe is easy. I mess up almost every recipe and this one turned out great on my first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was surprisingly good with some changes, which is why I couldn't give it 5 stars. I crumbled and cooked the sausage in a sauté pan first -- completely. Undercooked pork is nothing to fool around with and why not take the step for safety? It does nothing to diminish the flavor. I may try chicken sausage next time so I'll certainly cook that first. Next I used two slices of double fiber whole grain bread pulsed to fine crumbs in my ninja pro and added that to the sausage and insides of the zucchini. To that I added a handful of fresh basil leaves chopped, garlic powder, onion powder and dried oregano. I added one large egg and about 1/4 cup half and half to make the stuffing wetter -- like stuffing should be heading into the oven. While I was preparing the stuffing and preheating the oven, I had the zucchini shells baking to ensure they would be soft in the end. I removed the shells and stuffed them before pouring spaghetti sauce over the top. I baked them for about 40 minutes at 400 degrees and then covered with a bag of shredded Italian cheese blend until it was melted (I had six zucchini shells of varying sizes stuffed). This was a great dinner and is especially friendly to those who are watching carbs. I saw no need to put this over pasta or rice. UPDATE: I now add a ricotta mixture just as you would to lasagna & top w/ stuffing & sauce. It's excellent. High protein & low carb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States