Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Awesome suggestions to the original recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Based on other reviewers, I made modifications, including my own. I thought adding the seeds would overflow the zucchini "boat", and I was right. I had more than enough filling. I discarded the seeds and used a melon baller to get them out. I added dried basil and used Jimmy Dean sausage with sage for a little more flavor. Used bread crumbs but a lower calorie panko would work as well. I omitted the sauce, as the juices from the zucchini and cheese were enough. Lastly, I omitted covering with mozzarella, to cut down on calories and work. Goes great with white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAsweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Delicious and soooo easy! I did make a few very minor changes. I diced the zucchini flesh that was removed with the seeds and added about 1/2 C of chopped onion to the zucchini/sausage filling. I also seasoned the zucchini shells with salt, pepper, and garlic powder before filling. I baked mine a little longer than 45 minutes, too, just ot be sure the sausage was thoroughly cooked. Next time I will use turkey breakfast sausage to reduce fat and calories. My family loved this dish, and it was good reheated the next day, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
So glad I tried this recipe! My husband and I loved it. I did brown the meat first with some onion and all the other ingredients. Glad I did because I had extra topping even though I bought jumbo zucchinis at the produce stand.Cooked in the oven for 30 minutes. I boiled pasta and put the extra meat sauce over the top. Great! Also served over rice is a good combination as pictured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Good basic recipe to build up on. I used yellowneck squash but as for the meat mixture I have to admit that with the spices as given it lacked flavor. Since I did not have that much spaghetti sauce left, I used less and my squashes were a little bigger I think it had enough sauce and I had them in the oven for about a total of an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Loved this! Placed zucchini boats in oven while making the stuffing to help ensure they fully cooked. Had to add an extra 30 minutes at the end to fully cook the sausage though. Next time I will partially cook the sausage before filling the boats. Added onion and red pepper flakes to the stuffing also. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This recipe was really delicious! Even better the next day when the flavors have a chance to meld together. A couple of changes I made: used 1 lb of Jennie o Italian flavored ground turkey instead of sausage and I added one whole chopped tomato, a large bunch of fresh basil, chopped, one sautéed onion and about 3T of garlic paste as that was what I had on hand. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I agree flaglady
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I make this all the time in the summer! You really CAN add anything to this, and it turns out awesome - BUT I ALWAYS cook the meat first! Add fresh tomatoes, yellow squash, peppers and herbs from the garden - You can't hurt it, and this one does NOT disappoint!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Made this tonight exactly as written. Didn't have any problem with undercooked zucchini like other reviewers. I thought it was fantastic and so did the family. Only comment was to reduce breadcrumbs which I'll be trying next time. Thanks for a versatile and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States