Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This recipe needs a lot of adjustments. In order for the zucchini boats not to be undercooked, (ie. crunchy) they should be baking in the oven while the stuffing is prepared. I half-cooked the sausage, if nothing else just to get it a little eaiser to mix with the rest of the ingredients. I used a hot italian sausage and it really added to the flavor. Decrease the amount of breadcrumbs by 1/2 I also reccomend adding roasted red peppers (chopped), fresh basil and sundried tomatoes (chopped) to the stuffing along with crushed red pepper flakes (about 1 tablespoon). Also make sure you use a good quality tomato sauce and lots of extra cheese. There is so much potential with this recipe you just have to make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
890 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
Need to state that the meat be browned prior to adding and need to give suggested size of zuchini to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Awesome! This was met with mixed reviews from Sonny. Hubby and I couldn't get enough. This is very filling though. Made for dinner lastnight, this morning Sonny said "that was good dinner lastnight" We will make this again. Followed recipe exactly, browning sausage 1st. We used 3 zucchini about 5 inches in diameter and 9 inches long, filled our casserole dish completely. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is delish as written! Thanks LTHASKINS!! I don't know why people write things in their reviews that they can't possibly know if they don't make it as written. If they want to use this recipe as a base and come up with a new one, post it as a different recipe. You DO NOT need to brown the meat first and you should know not to use a very large zucchini and expect it to cook in 45 minutes without precooking it some. It was also delicious with regular sausage and good mozzarella! Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Yum! I made it pretty close to the original recipe (something unusual for me). The only thing I changed were I used bulk Italian sausage and added an egg to the mixture. Oh, and I upped the garlic (like triple or more) and added fresh basil to the sauce. My recommendations- Use whatever sausage you like to start with. Italian was great. My friend Becky used Mushroom and Asiago that she got from Trader Joes. I don't recommend Mozerella cheese. Though it tasted fine, it resembled plastic on top. My friend used jack cheese and it was great. I love the sauce. I want more of it (50-100 percent more. We served it with Pasta. My friend used brown Batsmati rice. I liked them both, but the rice was better to me. We just wanted more of that yummy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
This is one of my husband's favorite recipes, and while we cook it mostly in the early summer months, he loves when I surprise him with it during the rest of the year also. I have never pre-cooked my meat, and it always turns out wonderful. Add a salad and some garlicy bread and it is more than a meal! Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Texas, USA
Living In: Brookeland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Yummy! Even my kids loved it! I served this with garlic bread and pasta. I cooked the sausage mixture first and reduced the baking time to 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
this is sooo good as stated,but you can do any kind of grounded meat(lamb,turkey,beef and morningstar crumbles,i have tried them all)my daughter call then pizza boats.yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I mostly followed this recipe. I had defrosted ground beef instead of sausage and I'm sure it would have been better with sausage. I also cooked my zucchini a bit in the oven in some water face down as it was the size of a tree and I didn't want it to be too tough. Also, I totally forgot the cheese...not sure how that happened...rough day, I guess. Anyway, it was good and I'll do it again. Thanks for reminding me of such a great way to use those monster zucchini that hide in my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Good stuff. I used spicy Jimmy Dean sausage - which does NOT need to be browned first - and added a little garlic powder and black pepper. I used regular little zucchinis and found they were cooked perfectly after 40 mins. We had it with angel hair pasta. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States