Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I used beef instead of pork, used a putanesca sauce and cover with pepper jack cheese!! I would add salt and pepper next time inside the meat and not add the seeds (for the kids sake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is one of the best meals I have made in a long time and it is really easy too, which is always a plus! It has all the yummy Italian favors that you love without needing to add the extra carbs of the noodles. I didn't change anything about the recipe except a little extra garlic and some red pepper flakes for heat. I used hot Italian sausage and Newmans Own pasta sauce and it turned out really well! The zucchini were a little crunchy still, but I liked the texture it gave the meal. That way it wasn't just one big mushy mess. I didn't pre-cook the sausage or the squash and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. I live alone, so leftovers are a big part of my life. These are great leftover! I added chopped onions to mine. Also, do not use an entire jar of spaghetti sauce. I used maybe 1/2 or 1/3. Also, there is not enough room to use 1 lb of ground beef. I did not brown the beef before hand. It cooks fine in the oven. I also used three times the amount of garlic. I also used extra cheese. This recipe is easy. I mess up almost every recipe and this one turned out great on my first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was surprisingly good with some changes, which is why I couldn't give it 5 stars. I crumbled and cooked the sausage in a sauté pan first -- completely. Undercooked pork is nothing to fool around with and why not take the step for safety? It does nothing to diminish the flavor. I may try chicken sausage next time so I'll certainly cook that first. Next I used two slices of double fiber whole grain bread pulsed to fine crumbs in my ninja pro and added that to the sausage and insides of the zucchini. To that I added a handful of fresh basil leaves chopped, garlic powder, onion powder and dried oregano. I added one large egg and about 1/4 cup half and half to make the stuffing wetter -- like stuffing should be heading into the oven. While I was preparing the stuffing and preheating the oven, I had the zucchini shells baking to ensure they would be soft in the end. I removed the shells and stuffed them before pouring spaghetti sauce over the top. I baked them for about 40 minutes at 400 degrees and then covered with a bag of shredded Italian cheese blend until it was melted (I had six zucchini shells of varying sizes stuffed). This was a great dinner and is especially friendly to those who are watching carbs. I saw no need to put this over pasta or rice. It's a great way to have a low-carb meal and not feel like you're missing the carbs. It's also a nice replacement for pizza. I could see using pizza sauce on this & pizza toppings. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I cooked the meat prior to mixing, but it was amazing. My husband hates zucchini, but he loved this recipe so much he even ate it as leftovers. (The first time I've ever seen him eat leftovers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I thought it could use a bit more flavor but I liked how unique it was and the zucchini stayed crunchy even after I reheated the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobyn42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This was such a great and simple meal, instead I used turkey sausage, however it was very good. My 6 year never liked zucchini before this now he only want to eat it with the spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
You can use ground chuck, beef or half beef & pork. I prefere half and half in the meat to tell you the truth. Better flavor in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
My sister gave me a huge zucchini from her garden the same day I saw this recipe. The only change I made was I used ground turkey meat.Great recipe with minimal ingredients. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
great ! but need a LARGE Zucc., I would use it as a spagt, sauce too . wil even try reg. chopped meat too,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States