Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is one of our favorite recipes. I've made it atleast 20 times! I make a few changes to make it healthier...I use turkey sausage and only use 1/4 cup of bread crumbs. I also omit the parmesean cheese. We use 4 large zucchini (I pick the 4 roundest ones at the store) but only use the seeds from 3 of them. Otherwise, I just find it too seedy and not enough sausage. I also add a shake of red pepper flakes. I do not cook the sausage first. I cook about an hour in the oven, sprinkle with a little cheese at the end. Comes out perfect everytime! Very tasty dinner for very little carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
My husband said he felt like he was "cheating on lasagna with this". He was surprised at how good vegetables can be in place of pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I had really high hopes for this recipe, but I ended up a little disappointed. The zucchini ended up being soggy and the sausage mixture wasn't all that flavorful. Thank goodness for the cheese and the garlic bread and salad I made for sides. If I were to make this again I'd cut out the bread crumbs (or add Italian flavored bread crumbs instead) and I'd use spicy sausage rather than plain. Just not quite enough flavor in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was very good, You can tweak out the carbs and make it a low carb meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This dish is a little too greasy for us. It's a unique dish, but I would not serve for company. Use less meat, 1/2 the sause and only one cup cheese would improve this one. BTW I needed 4 large zuccini to fill a 9x13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Super yummy! I loved this dish! Reheats really well too - wrap in foil and bake in oven 20-30 minutes until heated through. Next time I'd pre-cook the sausage before combining into the filling - the texture was a little "soft" to me being baked only and I kept wondering if it was actually fully cooked; other than that this is an awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was so good - use the sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Yummy! I decided not to use as much sauce as the recipe called for-anymore and it would have just tasted like the sauce. My daughter ate all of hers, which is saying something :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I loved this! It reminded me of lasagna, so you could easily use it to satisfy a lasagna craving if you're trying to stay low-carb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Wonderful just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States