Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This was a great dish but I heavily modified the instructions. I cooked the sausage & then sauteed the zucchini insides with the cooked sausage and extra garlic. I am LCHF so I did 1/3 c. italian seasoned breadcrumbs, 1/3 c. almond flour instead of the breadcrumbs the recipe calls for. I coated the 13x9 dish with olive oil before adding the overstuffed zucchini shells. I spooned just enough 4 cheese pasta sauce over the shells to cover the stuffing & edges of zucchini so I didn't need to use as much tomato sauce. I did not cover with foil & only cooked for 25 mins so the zucchini stayed firm & crisp. Big hit with the hubby too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Excellent! My entire family loved this! I used ground turkey since we just ate sausage two days prior, added some fresh basil, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I used two gigantic zucchini from my garden to make 4 boats and it was the perfect amount of filling. (They didn't fit into a 9x13 pan so I used 2 cookie sheets but still covered them with foil and lined the pan with foil for easy clean-up. Worked great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
So delicious...like a restaurant quality meal! Only modification I made was to lightly saute onions and zucchini "guts" with the garlic and the ground sausage before stuffing. I also cut back on the amount of bread crumbs. Great with a side of rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Made as written. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I love this one with fresh zucchini out of the garden. I use this ones with the larger zucchini. I did not cook the sausage separate, I stuffed the halves with the raw mixture and found it cooked thoroughly and the zucchini was cooked as well. I've also made these with slices of thinner zucchini. Slice them about 1 1/2" and scoop out a divot and then fill it with a scoop. These cook faster and are a great appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
absolutely divine even the kids wanted seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is one of our favorite recipes. I've made it atleast 20 times! I make a few changes to make it healthier...I use turkey sausage and only use 1/4 cup of bread crumbs. I also omit the parmesean cheese. We use 4 large zucchini (I pick the 4 roundest ones at the store) but only use the seeds from 3 of them. Otherwise, I just find it too seedy and not enough sausage. I also add a shake of red pepper flakes. I do not cook the sausage first. I cook about an hour in the oven, sprinkle with a little cheese at the end. Comes out perfect everytime! Very tasty dinner for very little carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
My husband said he felt like he was "cheating on lasagna with this". He was surprised at how good vegetables can be in place of pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I had really high hopes for this recipe, but I ended up a little disappointed. The zucchini ended up being soggy and the sausage mixture wasn't all that flavorful. Thank goodness for the cheese and the garlic bread and salad I made for sides. If I were to make this again I'd cut out the bread crumbs (or add Italian flavored bread crumbs instead) and I'd use spicy sausage rather than plain. Just not quite enough flavor in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was very good, You can tweak out the carbs and make it a low carb meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States