Stuffed Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
The previous reviewer states that they followed the recipe "exactly" and the meat was dry and chewy. If you follow the recipe exactly, if the meat is getting dry while cooking you do what the recipe says and add some water and turn the burner down. Previous reviewers suggesting slow cookers or simmering in a liquid also have good ideas if you are worried about dry tough meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Boy, were these good! I pulled the skin back before I made the slits - then pulled it back over after they were stuffed. Awesome blend of flavors. Definitely worth the time. Beaufiful once browned, too. For an inexpensive meal, it's definitely something you wouldn't be afraid to serve to guests. Thank you! What a great tribute to "Dad" to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I tried this recipe, as directed, to the T. I enjoyed the smoky, tender result of the meat. However, the unnecessary amount of salt and oil the recipe calls for made me ill. Simply skip it. There’s no need to "stuff" the legs, either. Just poke them all around (or create slits) and the seasoning will penetrate them. Brown them in oil with a few drops of teriyaki. Put them in a pot. Add a can of Tomato Paste, a can of Tomato Sauce, then the bacon, onion and peppers. Also, instead of simply using Oregano and Pepper, the following seasonings result in a wonderful flavor: Cilantro, Garlic, Bay Leaves, Cumin, Coriander and/or an Italian Seasoning mix (consisting of: Marjoram, Thyme, Rosemary, Savory, Sage, Oregano and Basil.) Also, give it a splash of White Cooking Wine and Bitter Orange. Have it all simmer together for the approx. cooking time of 1½ hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
We eat a lot of turkey and I wanted a new recipe. This was a nice change of flavor! If you check my other recipe reviews, I am always one for simplifying whenever possible and needless to say, I did so here. I seasoned my (three) legs with S, P, and oregano. Then wrapped two pieces of bacon around each leg and fried it in a pan just like you would regular bacon. Turning carefully so the bacon doesn't fall off. Then I placed the legs in the crockpot. Poured 1Tb. of Hoisin sauce over each leg and cooked on low for 6-8 hours. It was delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
These didn't knock my socks off, but they were very tasty for a weeknight dinner.. Like others have said: Cut the oil in half and the salt to 1 tsp or less. To make it easy, I just sauted and stewed everything together in a close fitting pot with cover, and on top of the stove. Skip the stuffing business too. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
this was a great recipe, my husband and I enjoyed it a lot. the bacon makes the turkey so juicy and tender. I will definitely use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I was looking for a different recipe for turkey legs (I've only smoked them in the past,) and I was pleasantly surprised to find this. The flavor was simply wonderful - it's much greater than the sum of its parts. I'll definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knittin'cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chamblee, Georgia, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I was looking for something different and found the recipe. It was really easy to prepare and it turned out great. I used precooked bacon and it still gave it a great flavor. I will try this one again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I wanted to take a break from eating red meat and thought of using this turkey recipe for my husband. The first time we had it, my husband was not only surprised by the size of the turkey legs, he was also extremely pleased with how it tasted. I cooked it again when a couple of friends came for dinner and they found it also delicious! It has become a favorite dish whenever we expect relatives and friends for dinner. But to improve its taste, I marinated the turkey without the olive oil for at least 2 hours or better yet overnight in the refrigerator then an hour before cooking, I mixed the olive oil into the marinade and let it sip through. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Wifey cooked this and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States