Stuffed Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I tried this recipe, as directed, to the T. I enjoyed the smoky, tender result of the meat. However, the unnecessary amount of salt and oil the recipe calls for made me ill. Simply skip it. There’s no need to "stuff" the legs, either. Just poke them all around (or create slits) and the seasoning will penetrate them. Brown them in oil with a few drops of teriyaki. Put them in a pot. Add a can of Tomato Paste, a can of Tomato Sauce, then the bacon, onion and peppers. Also, instead of simply using Oregano and Pepper, the following seasonings result in a wonderful flavor: Cilantro, Garlic, Bay Leaves, Cumin, Coriander and/or an Italian Seasoning mix (consisting of: Marjoram, Thyme, Rosemary, Savory, Sage, Oregano and Basil.) Also, give it a splash of White Cooking Wine and Bitter Orange. Have it all simmer together for the approx. cooking time of 1½ hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
While this is not a terrible recipe it was honestly not as good as I hoped they would be. I love turkey & was salivating at the thought of trying this out & it just didn't compare to the way I usually make them. It was kind of upsetting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Boy, were these good! I pulled the skin back before I made the slits - then pulled it back over after they were stuffed. Awesome blend of flavors. Definitely worth the time. Beaufiful once browned, too. For an inexpensive meal, it's definitely something you wouldn't be afraid to serve to guests. Thank you! What a great tribute to "Dad" to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
These were delicious! I added an extra tb. of teriyaki during cooking. I will definately make this again and try roasting them on the grill. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcellus, New York, USA
Living In: Camillus, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
this was a great recipe, my husband and I enjoyed it a lot. the bacon makes the turkey so juicy and tender. I will definitely use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
These did not have much flavor, and they were very chewy. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Worth the wait! Excellent - and I don't even like Turkey legs very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This was a lot of work, but absolutely great. I was afraid it was going to be too salty, but it was just right. I used turkey thighs, instead of legs, because that was what I had. That may have been why I had some trouble with stuffing the ingredients into the slits I made. I'll try it again when I find turkey legs on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I was looking for something different and found the recipe. It was really easy to prepare and it turned out great. I used precooked bacon and it still gave it a great flavor. I will try this one again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I wanted to take a break from eating red meat and thought of using this turkey recipe for my husband. The first time we had it, my husband was not only surprised by the size of the turkey legs, he was also extremely pleased with how it tasted. I cooked it again when a couple of friends came for dinner and they found it also delicious! It has become a favorite dish whenever we expect relatives and friends for dinner. But to improve its taste, I marinated the turkey without the olive oil for at least 2 hours or better yet overnight in the refrigerator then an hour before cooking, I mixed the olive oil into the marinade and let it sip through. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States