Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is a wonderful, easy stuffed tomato recipe. I am surprised there isn't that many reviews. I used 4 medium tomatoes instead of 2 large. I had to use Italian sausage because that's all I had, I crumbled and browned before using in the stuffing. I was skeptical about using the cheddar with that, but I was so wrong. The flavor combo is great. I did grease the bottom of my dish with a bit of olive oil before placing the tomatoes. I will definitely make these again. A light sprinkle of basil on top the cheese also adds good flavor. My boyfriend who isn't fond of tomatoes had two. Thanks for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This recipe is a keeper! I used smoked turkey sausage to make it a little healthier. Also, I didn't have any can tomatoes so I used insides of the tomatoes. I just put them in a pot, added my favorite spices, simmered for about 30 minutes or less. Drained some juice and it worked out great! Thanks for this recipe. Kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
It was wonderfull!! I ended up making alot more then it called for, making only 3! The rest I put in a cassarole dish ! This made the whole family LOVE it...even the ones that dont like tomatoes! Yet the tomatoe lovers still got it the way it called for it!! YUMMM ..thanx!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was real easy to make and quick. I diced fresh hot peppers in the stuffing w/ stewed tomatoes diced up. I also used the left over stuffing in some hot peppers and sooked the same way and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave/Lenora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ridonkulous
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
My husband wasn't big on this because of how spicy it was but I absolutely loved it! I didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing such a simple & yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ridonkulous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sparta, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Although I have made some changes (ground beef instead of sausage, spices, etc), this is a recipe I have returned to multiple times (and look forward to making every time tomatoes are in season!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My 20 year old son and his girlfriend made this for dinner last night, and I was skeptical since I don't like cooked tomato. They forgot the breadcrumbs, so I suggested crushed Ritz crackers (worked very well). They added quite a lot of cheese, and the end result was wonderful! These will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Mmmm delicious! I subbed the sausage for corn since I don't eat meat...my fave part of this is the cheddar/tomato combo! Thanks for a great recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Very good I am not change anything....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
totally delish!!! i used the actuall innards of the tomato instead of canned. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States