Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Mmmm delicious! I subbed the sausage for corn since I don't eat meat...my fave part of this is the cheddar/tomato combo! Thanks for a great recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is a wonderful, easy stuffed tomato recipe. I am surprised there isn't that many reviews. I used 4 medium tomatoes instead of 2 large. I had to use Italian sausage because that's all I had, I crumbled and browned before using in the stuffing. I was skeptical about using the cheddar with that, but I was so wrong. The flavor combo is great. I did grease the bottom of my dish with a bit of olive oil before placing the tomatoes. I will definitely make these again. A light sprinkle of basil on top the cheese also adds good flavor. My boyfriend who isn't fond of tomatoes had two. Thanks for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
The picture looked so delicious I couldn't wait to make the recipe even though I didn't have all the ingredients. Instead of canned tomatos, I stuffed my red tomatos with diced yellow tomatos. I used skinless turkey sausage. I used less breadcrumbs, but added a few flavored (cheddar/garlic) croutons which created wonderful bites of flavor. I also used colby/jack cheese. This recipe is so easy to adapt, so don't be afraid to use the ingredients you have on hand. Last thought, the less juice included (from tomatos) the better. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I changed this recipe a lot. You can do a lot of things to stuff the tomatoes. I used ground chicken with bell peppers (all I had). I didn't throw the stuffing of the tomatoes out, but used it later for another sauce for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
My family loved this. I used regular Jimmy Dean sausage. About 3/4 of the roll. And Added over a cup of cooked rice in it. It was enough to stuff about 8 tomatoes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Very nice mix of flavors but the sausage was overbearing. I would half the sausage next time or use a very mild sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
This recipe was absolutly wonderful! My son who won't touch a tomato ate two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
totally delish!!! i used the actuall innards of the tomato instead of canned. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Very good I am not change anything....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Yummy!! Quick and easy lunch. I use cajun style turkey from my deli and it was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Salas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States