Stuffed Tomato Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
It was very good aside from the tomato inside; I didn't care for it. I would probably spread the inside with pesto, then layer the cheese, close up and wrap with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This recipe was excellent. I change the cheese to mozzarella. My 4 kids and husband loved, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
we loved it. this morning i decided to roast tomatoes in the oven, that had been tossed with basil, s&p & garlic & a little sugar. it was a good way to warm up the house on a cold day and use blah tomatoes! i didn't know what to use them with and found this recipe. after reading reviews, i thought i would try my tomatoes in this recipe. i marinated the chicken in the juice left over from my tomatoes. i stuffed the chicken with the roasted tomatoes and grated parmesan cheese and a couple of fresh basil leaves. i topped them with a bit of panko crumbs and baked for the suggested 15 minutes at 500 degrees and they were perfect. thank you for all the suggestions. i counted it as 7 points towards my diet and can't wait to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is one of my favorites if not my all time favorite recipe! I know it is my husband's favorite. What I like best is that it is great with and without changes. If you don't have the marinade, a quick substitute is your favorite seasonings mixed with olive oil, white vingear, and water (in equal proportions). I like to add extra provolone and Parmesan because cheese and me are good friends. Also, the fresh basil leaves I think helped make this recipe - they are so delicious! Use toothpicks soaked in water to hold together the chicken and bacon at the seams (a recommendation I took from another reviewer that worked great). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Great Recipe!!!! I needed something quick and easy in a hurry b/c my boyfriends parents were coming over. The only thing I did different is after the chicken was done, I turned the broiler on until the bacon on top was crispy. Everyone was super impressed and it was a delicious, inexpensive dish. Very nice, thanks for adding it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fizzgig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Used Gouda cheese inside, just because I had it on hand. It was so good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylovesbaking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was ok, my husband liked it alot, but it was just ok to my kids and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Love this recipe! I use Italian seasoning mixed with olive oil as my marinade and then just sprinkle the Parm cheese on top of the tomato instead of on the outside. With a gas oven the bacon comes out crispy and the chicken tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made one important (I believe) change. I used thinly sliced proscuitto instead of bacon. I baked it in a 350 degree oven for 40 minutes. I find bacon too fatty and once your chicken is cooked, the bacon isn't. The proscuitto browned and crisped beautifully and the chicken wasn't overdone. My hubby pronounced this recipe "a keeper". We also used fresh basil and tomatoes out of our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I thought this was very good. My husband liked it as well. I tweaked the recipe just a little bit though. We're trying to eat healthier so I didn't use any bacon and I only sprinkled some grated parm on top (no cheese on the inside). I also used six basil leaves on each chicken breast and I used the store-bought, thin-sliced chicken so I didn't have to bother slicing it. We had a surplus of basil, since we grow it and love it, so that's why I opted to use more than the recipe recommended. I also only cooked it for 15 minutes on each side and didn't bother putting it back in the oven to melt the cheese, because the chicken was thoroughly cooked at that point. I will definitely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States