Stuffed Tomato Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Oh gosh, this was soooo yummy. We soaked the chicken in buttermilk (milk/vinegar) for a day first, and it was super tender. The whole family loved it! Great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This recipe had good flavor but was difficult to keep together. Not easy to slice the chicken breasts evenly, the bacon slipped off and burned, and flipping the chicken breast was a nightmare (the insides fell all over). I used roma tomatoes(great flavor and hold together well) and pesto sauce instead of basil. Next time I make this I will use more cheese inside and tie the breasts closed with some kitchen twine to make flipping easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is one of those recipes that sound so good, but wasn't so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I will use sundried tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes when I try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Awesome. My wife couldn't believe how good it was. This is keeper. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
WOW! This was incredible :-D I couldn't find the suggested marinade, so I used one that we really like, a lemon-garlic marinade, and it was wonderful. I was wary of how much filling to use, so I used less of everything (basil- the leaves were huge!, tomato, and provalone), but after making it, I think the suggested amount would have been perfect. DEFINITELY a keeper. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This chicken was delicious! I chose not to use bacon but that had no detrimental effect on the taste. Very easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAGNYDAGNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because it tasted so good. Hubby loved it. My only problem was it fell apart while being served. I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This is a wonderful dish! Instead of using a marinade, I make my own with olive oil, white vinegar, garlic, and Italian seasoning. I use two pieces of thin cut chicken breast instead of slicing a regluar breast in half, I double the amount of provolone, keep the same ammount of basil, leave out the tomato, double the amount of bacon, and leave off the parmesan. I cook it on a rack set over a baking sheet so that the bacon will crisp (instead of cook in the juices).This tastes especially good with "Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes", found here on this site. EDIT: I've made more changes to this dish since I first made it. I now marinade thin cut chicken breast in Italian dressing overnight, drain it, spread basil pesto on the insides of the chicken, lay double the amount of provolone (smoked provolone is best, yum) on one slice of chicken, top it with another slice of chicken, and wrap it in double the amount of bacon (first lengthwise, then widthwise, then lengthwise again to remove the need for toothpicks). The basil pesto makes a huge difference and really enhances the taste of the dish, and the more fat the bacon has in it, the better. It seems to soak into the chicken and leave it extra tender. Everyone LOVES this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This was so awesome! Easy to make and delicious to eat! I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States