Stuffed Tomato Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This chicken was delicious! I chose not to use bacon but that had no detrimental effect on the taste. Very easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAGNYDAGNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because it tasted so good. Hubby loved it. My only problem was it fell apart while being served. I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This is a wonderful dish! Instead of using a marinade, I make my own with olive oil, white vinegar, garlic, and Italian seasoning. I use two pieces of thin cut chicken breast instead of slicing a regluar breast in half, I double the amount of provolone, keep the same ammount of basil, leave out the tomato, double the amount of bacon, and leave off the parmesan. I cook it on a rack set over a baking sheet so that the bacon will crisp (instead of cook in the juices).This tastes especially good with "Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes", found here on this site. EDIT: I've made more changes to this dish since I first made it. I now marinade thin cut chicken breast in Italian dressing overnight, drain it, spread basil pesto on the insides of the chicken, lay double the amount of provolone (smoked provolone is best, yum) on one slice of chicken, top it with another slice of chicken, and wrap it in double the amount of bacon (first lengthwise, then widthwise, then lengthwise again to remove the need for toothpicks). The basil pesto makes a huge difference and really enhances the taste of the dish, and the more fat the bacon has in it, the better. It seems to soak into the chicken and leave it extra tender. Everyone LOVES this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnna Boles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This was so awesome! Easy to make and delicious to eat! I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
So Good! Everybody loved it. I made as directed except I forgot the parm. cheese...didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This had everything I love in it. I have no idea why the end result wasn't fabulous. This just had no flavor, I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Ferrill Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I loved this. It was delicious and very easy. I did not use the provolone cheese and also halved the bacon. Still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This recipe came out wonderfully, despite my inexperience as a cook. I changed the marinade slightly due to what ingredients I had available, and instead used lemon juice, olive oil, fresh garlic, salt and pepper. I used parmesan cheese inside the chicken and grilled them on a George Foreman. I didn't wrap the chicken in bacon this time around, but I may just try it next time! I also chose to serve the chicken over tagliatelle and tomato sauce with more parmesan and a basil garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becca
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Good recipe, a blast to use our fresh basil and fresh tomatoes out of the garden. Clean up is kind of a mess, and it is lengthy to prepare but I got good responses from my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States