Stuffed Sourdough Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was fantastic! By the way, this in NOT an artichoke dip, as one negative reviewer mistakenly states. This is a yummy, cheesy loaf of tasty goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC8371

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I wanted to make this recipe for a dinner party but was alittle concerned by the directions (or lack of some key info). I made a few cooking adjustments and it really turned out great. Everyone enjoyed it! Here is what I did: 1. Be sure to use a long "larger diameter" loaf of bread, like the artisan kind. I don't think this will work without a hefy loaf of bread. 2. You only need to use about 2/3 of the required "stuffing ingredients" (i.e. Monterey Jack cheese on down). That will be plenty to fill your loaf. I made the full recipe and had lots left over that I couldn't use for this. 3. As others mentioned "broiling for 10 min." would never work. I baked (without adding the cheddar cheese and green onions) for 20 - 25 min. in a 350% oven. I then added the cheddar cheese and green onions and broiled for 5 min. until bubbly. 4. To serve: I sliced each loaf half down the long way and then came back and sliced each quarter length into 1 1/2 inches easy to eat portions. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I used french bread because I don't enjoy the taste of sourdough, and forgot to top with my green onions (oops). But regardless of these changes, this was fantastic. It flew everyone loved it, and I got tons of compliments, I almost felt guilty because of how easy it was to make :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehilgenberg10
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I had some friends over on a "cold" Texas winter night and this was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I made this for New Years Eve last night. I got away with using only 5 Tbsp. of butter when browning the bread with the garlic. I grated the Monterey Jack because I felt it would melt easier when baking. I used just one can of artichokes which I thought was plenty. Make sure you cut up the artichokes before adding them into the cheese mixture. I mixed the cheddar cheese and green onions directly into the mixture instead of sprinkling on top and added a bit of seasoning salt. I mixed the bread in last and then stored the bread mixture in a bowl in my fridge. When I was ready to bake it later that night I let the cheese/bread mixture sit out to soften a bit before I spread it into the hollowed out bread. Definitely cook it at 350 for about 30 minutes for a great result. After cooling for a couple of minutes, I sliced it into chunks for appetizers. It's very rich but very tasty. Just one note about a previous reviewer saying something about this being "bad artichoke dip". I've made artichoke dip tons of times and this obviously intended to be a different type of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was bad. I have never made an artichoke dip before and this dip does not sell me on artichokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
This was absolutely fantastic! Added just a bit of chopped pepperoni for an extra bite and followed the other suggestion of cooking it at 350 for 30 minutes (those big cubes of monterrey jack take a bit to melt). My family absolutely Loved it. Will definitely be making it for the next party I attend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSLUV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Landrum, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I've been making this loaf for 10 years, but had lost the actual recipe - I was ecstatic to find it here so I can pass it on to friends. It's ALWAYS a hit, even for people who swear they don't like artichokes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
Its a winner at any gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States