Stuffed Sole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This would be a five star recipe if you use a different fish and don’t use the drippings to make the sauce. If this recipe looks good to you but you don’t like fishy tasting fish just make these small changes. Either make sure you are using DOVER SOLE (only sole that is not fishy!) or use Orange Roughy. Or just any white fish that is extremely mild. And to make the sauce double the lemon juice mixture and use half for cooking the fish and the other half for making the sauce. Then the sauce is excellent (on lots of things) and there is no fishy tasting anything!!!! You can also replace the shrimp for crab if you choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
This was very easy to make. A nice way to use sole. The only change I made to the recipe was adding a bit of red pepper to the sauce. Very tasty.. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Awesome, awesome, awesome. I am going make it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Simply amazing!!! This recipe is so easy to make, and tastes absolutely amazing! My partner is a frenchman, and very fussy about food, and he loves this dish...as do several friends we've had over for dinner! Tastes great just following the recipe, or you can adjust the wine or the lemon, or any of the ingredients for that matter, to suit your tastes. Fool proof and one worth adding to your recipe book!!! 5 Stars definitely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
This recipe was a little hard to make. It did taste very good though. The only think that I dident like about it was the strong after taste, other than that, it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
We liked this. I was in a hurry so did not make the sauce - but the fish still tasted great. I also made a change. Since I didn't have shrimp in the house, I made a filling out of canned salmon instead (1 can of salmon, 1 garlic clove, 1 tbsp lemon juice, salt and pepper). We liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Excellent: We had this recipe for dinner tonight . It was easy and took the same cooking time as boiling the new red potatoes. and DH said it was very good. Next time I would spicy up the sauce with a bit of hot sauce or peppers. Loved it. price wise - the sole cost 2.67 on sale and the shrimp cost 2.06. Pretty gourmet for $4.73 lees
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This fish tasted good until I put the sauce over it..then it was too fishy. I wanted the sole because it had little fish flavor. I don't like fish much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Okay, but a little bland and dry. If I were to make this recipe again I would bump up the spicing considerably, perhaps with lots of fresh dill and thin lemon slices. Also, I would bake it for about 10 minutes less and then check for doneness. Overall, it is a "healthy" recipe that tastes "healthy".... in other words, there's nothing wrong with it that a few dollops of cream cheese wouldn't fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Simply the best. I'm a male and I had no flour so I added a tablespoon of instant potato flakes to thick the sauce. My wife believes I am a great cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States