Stuffed Shells III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
This is the best stuffed shell recipe I have made thus far. My husband loves this dish and it is anything but bland. Since mushrooms are used in the recipe, I also used mushroom preggo sauce and it really did the trick. I would recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a flavorful stuffed shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
I decided to use cottage cheese in place of ricotta as I had some on hand and cottage cheese is often used in place of the more expensive ricotta. I only had a 24-oz carton of cottage cheese so I reduced the other ingredients accordingly. I also did not cook the shells ahead of time. I gently filled the "raw" shells with a teaspoon. For the shells that were too tightly curled to fill, I put them in an 8 X 8 pan (as my 11 X 7 pan was filled already with the stuffed shells) and spooned the filling over them. I spooned the sauce (I had homemade sauce) over both pans, covered tightly with aluminum foil and baked for 90 minutes. The shells cooked in the steam. I, like several other reviewers (at least the ones that gave only 1 or 2 stars), noted how salty the dish was. I didn't feel it was so salty as to be inedible. However, I think the salt could be cut in half or even eliminated. Like some other reviewers, I think it's strange to mix the cheeses with the sauce. I think it would have been better to spoon the sauce over the shells and then sprinkle the cheese on top. The taste was OK--I agree with some others who thought it was kind of bland. And, like others, I, too, am surprised the recipe doesn't call for oregano or some other spices/herbs commonly used in Italian dishes. This recipe didn't "wow" me so I'll keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Rapp
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I made this and it was so great even my picky kid got seconds. I add hamburger and did not do mushrooms since we don't care for them. Over all it was great. It made ALOT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Quick and Easy...perfect dish for meatless Monday. Cut the salt amount back to 1 tsp. Definitely helps to use a ziplock bag to stuff the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
First time I've made stuffed shells! This is easier than I thought and it tastes amazing!!! Glad we have enough for left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florencia McPherson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Loved this! I added chopped basil to the filling and a pinch of nutmeg. I also found it very easy to fill a Ziploc bag with the filling snip off a corner and pipe filling into shells. Great recipe for a week night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This was great! It was also super easy - I just have to plan ahead next time. The family gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This is the easiest, tastiest shells and cheese recipe yet! Easy to make ahead of time and then refridgerate or freeze until ready to use. I added a little cream cheese and some thawed frozen spinach to the cheese mix and it was the best!!! This is a meal that even the pickiest eaters in your family will like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
i tried this and it was definitely a hit i added italian sausage to the filling instead of the sauce and it was pretty good next time i will add more sauce. one jar isn't enough i should of read the comments before attempting seems like everyone had that same issue. as well as cut the salt in half too. this recipe is definitely a saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States