Stuffed Shells III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lady_E
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I added chicken and spinach to the ricotta mixture. I boiled the chicken hen shredded with a fork and put a box of frozen organic spinach (thawed & drained) in the mixture and my family loved it! I also added more seasons to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady_E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I would not make this again without major adjustments to the quantities of salt, pepper, and pasta sauce. As others have written, cut the salt in half and cut the pepper to 1/4 tsp and add at least 8 oz. more pasta sauce. To add more depth of flavor add in some red pepper flakes and garlic powder. There are a lot of mushrooms, enough that this could easily be called "Stuffed shells smothered in mushrooms". I like the idea another reviewer had to add seasoned sausage or ground beef. I would also recommend fresh over dried parsley, if on-hand. I also added 1/2 c. chopped spinach, since I wanted to use it up and am always looking for a way to increase leafy greens in recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
We loved this recipe! My 5 year old daughter had a blast mixing the cheese & stuffing the shells. I went with the recommendations for less salt, more sauce, & to add garlic. We also added Italian seasoning to the cheese mixture. We baked at 350 for 40 minutes then 20 minutes on 400. We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Should have listened to the reviews on the salt, will definitely use half the salt in the next go. Otherwise, great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
If I make this recipe again I would add some meat sauce with beef or sauage in it ,to make it more like a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
My whole family really loved this recipe. I used 1 pound of pasta instead of 12 oz. and should have stuck to the recipe. I think each shell could have had more cheese in it. I did not use mushrooms because my children hate mushrooms. I did however add spinach to the cheese mixture and they all loved them with spinach. It is a well-written recipe. I did cut back on the salt. Cheese is salty enough without two tsp. of salt in it. I also added two cloves of garlic, finely minced and chilled the cheese mixture in the fridge for a while before filling the shells. This is easily made early in the day, refrigerated and baked for dinner when needed. This could also be used with a sausage and ground beef sauce and it is an easier than lasagna dish without the work of lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Awesome recipe! Only made minor modifications, half the salt, half the black pepper per our preference. Only had 15 oz of ricotta so added 4 oz of laughing cow to make up some of the difference. Used 1-8 oz bag of shredded 4 cheese Italian and 1-8 oz bag of sharp cheddar. Only used ~6 oz of Parmesan. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Tried this on a cold, Sunday winters night and loved it! It is definitely more cheesy than saucey but amazing! Sometimes I don't like a lot of sauce and this to me is a true cheese stuffed shell. I also added more mushrooms and added artichokes to the sauce on top. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
basically the recipe that was on the box! Hmm. I guess it won't be lost this way. Have always loved it and tweak it when I want it changed a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanee Van Ee-Mortensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I just made this a few days ago an it was a hit we all loved it an will make it more often thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Hinrichs Williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cortland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States