Stuffed Shells III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Very good recipe. Not difficult at all, and very tasty. Stuffing the shells is a pain, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was a great meal. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama's Recipe's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This was fantastic! First time preparing stuffed shells so I spent some time reading the reviews... cooked the shells apr. 8 mins and then rinsed in cold water. Prepared the cheese mixture the night before and put in in the refrigerator in a Ziploc bag. Snipped the corner of the bag and they were a breeze to fill. Doubled the sauce, added 1/2 pound of sweet Italian sausage to the sauce. I also replaced 1/2 of the ricotta with small curd cottage cheese. I took these to a family reunion and they were a big hit. Even some of the pickiest eaters enjoyed them. Will most certainly make these again. Oh, and the only salt I used was cooking the pasta. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
These were amazing! I made them according to the recipe, except for adding some Italian seasoning and garlic powder to the cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I made this recipe this evening. It was a little more involved than I'd bargained for but well worth the effort. I did tweak it a bit. I added ground beef to the sauce. And I bought the biggest container of sauce that Prego makes since in many of the reviews the sauce was believed to be insufficient. I probably added four to six ounces of cottage cheese to the ricotta along with Italian Seasoning and garlic. I also cut the salt to half a teaspoon due to many of the reviews, but I believe I will increase it to three quarters to perhaps an entire teaspoon next time. I also did not mix the cheeses with the sauce, that just seemed a little odd to me. I sprinkled the remaining cheese over both pans (and yes, it did indeed make two) covered them for forty-five minutes and then uncovered for fifteen minutes. One thing I did that wasn't mentioned in the instructions is that I let the dish rest for fifteen minutes before serving. The cheese isn't so runny once it cools just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Tonight I made this for my husband and two little girls, ages 3 and 2. Everyone LOVED it. We had it as a part of our "Meatless Monday" on my meal plan. I wouldn't say it was super cheesy like other reviews had mentioned, but that also could have been because I changed it up a little. I made my own pasta sauce with a leftover pasta sauce I had in the freezer that was basically, tomato sauce, sauteed onion, diced tomatoes, spices, ect. Your basic homemade pasta sauce. I also added spinach to my ricotta cheese mixture before stuffing the shells and I did add the mushrooms to the pasta sauce. I then poured my CHUNKY pasta sauce over the shells and then topped that with the 2nd half of the Parmesan and mozzarella. I will be putting this in my kitchen's recipe book :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Great shells for beginners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made the dish according to the recipe and after 2 helpings HAD to freeze the rest.my granddaughter was hungry after school and ate 3 helpings while saying"not bad". this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Used a half recipe with a full jar of pasta sauce. Great dish and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Predominantly easy... the shells are easier to stuff with the bag method, I just suck at it. LOL I kinda had a rhythm going towards the end, though. Whether you use the spoon or bag, this is definitely a great recipe!! If you wanted, maybe add a pinch of nutmeg. Definitely a winner in my house!! My ricotta disliking daughter even gave me a compliment!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States