Stuffed Shells III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
We made this recipe as is and all of my kids liked it. It was salty and at the end we decided that if we make it again we will add some meat. It didn't seem like there was enough sauce so I might be adding a little more of that as well next time. Overall though it was a simple recipe and it came out good. We will probably be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
My family enjoyed this recipe and I followed many suggestions. One, if you use Italian Seasonings that contain salt, do not use any salt. Second, prepare the cheese ahead of time. Third, use a jar and a half, one is not enough and two I think is too many. Lastly, my family missed meat in this dish and requested sweet Italian sausage to be included. I am going to try it again and rate it after I have cut out the salt, less sauce, plus sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reyna Young Ulrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
This is the best stuffed shell recipe I have made thus far. My husband loves this dish and it is anything but bland. Since mushrooms are used in the recipe, I also used mushroom preggo sauce and it really did the trick. I would recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a flavorful stuffed shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
I decided to use cottage cheese in place of ricotta as I had some on hand and cottage cheese is often used in place of the more expensive ricotta. I only had a 24-oz carton of cottage cheese so I reduced the other ingredients accordingly. I also did not cook the shells ahead of time. I gently filled the "raw" shells with a teaspoon. For the shells that were too tightly curled to fill, I put them in an 8 X 8 pan (as my 11 X 7 pan was filled already with the stuffed shells) and spooned the filling over them. I spooned the sauce (I had homemade sauce) over both pans, covered tightly with aluminum foil and baked for 90 minutes. The shells cooked in the steam. I think the salt could be cut in half or even eliminated. I think it's strange to mix the cheeses with the sauce. I think it would have been better to spoon the sauce over the shells and then sprinkle the cheese on top. The taste was OK-it was kind of bland. I am surprised the recipe doesn't call for oregano or some other spices/herbs commonly used in Italian dishes. This recipe didn't "wow" me so I'll keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Rapp
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I made this and it was so great even my picky kid got seconds. I add hamburger and did not do mushrooms since we don't care for them. Over all it was great. It made ALOT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Quick and Easy...perfect dish for meatless Monday. Cut the salt amount back to 1 tsp. Definitely helps to use a ziplock bag to stuff the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
First time I've made stuffed shells! This is easier than I thought and it tastes amazing!!! Glad we have enough for left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florencia McPherson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Loved this! I added chopped basil to the filling and a pinch of nutmeg. I also found it very easy to fill a Ziploc bag with the filling snip off a corner and pipe filling into shells. Great recipe for a week night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This was great! It was also super easy - I just have to plan ahead next time. The family gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States