Stuffed Shells II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
I have to say this recipe was absolutely wonderful! I have only made stuffed shells maybe 3 or 4 times, and always just used spaghetti sauce. Because I have never like can tomatoes in anything I made, they always seem to overpower a dish, and all I taste is tomato. But this blew me away, oh so good! The only thing is I had half the sauce left over, could of easily used another box of shells. This was absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I loved this recipe. I did add some parmesan cheese to the meat mixture. I also added extra basil and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
First I added an egg- which bound the ingredients together better. I also added a little parmesan and mozzerella which also helped hold everything together. I was feeling too lazy to sautee an onion so I just put a small can of mushrooms in instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Remember to drain the diced tomatoes. I forgot and it was so watery. Also, mix the cottage cheese with the meat and onion NOT with the sauce! It was pretty flavorful the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
This was ok. I prefer some other recipes over this one. If I made this again, I would use my own sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
It tastes OK but the meat was too crumbly, didn't stay together and came out of the pasta.I tried to put some of the sauce in the meat but it didn't help much. I gave it only 3 stars because my family ate it without any critics.I don't believe I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
This recipe was delicious! I liked that it was easy to make and used ingredients I already had in my kitchen. I'm sure I'll make this one again - maybe I'll add spinach next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made this tonight, I had to change it just a little. I had tomato paste, so I made my own sauce with that and some chopped onion and mushroom and pepper and tomatoes. I added the hamburger meat to that sauce. I also used an egg and mixed the cottage cheese with the egg, some mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. As others suggested I used a zip lock bag with the tip cut off for putting the cheese mixture into the shells. That worked very well. I spooned in the sauce on top of that, inside the shells, after they were all filled I put more mozzarella and Parmesan and garlic powder on the top of all of it and then baked for 30 minutes. I usually won't give a lower than 5 rating to a recipe that I modified. In this case it seemed the shells would not actually be very stuffed, but more cooked in sauce...if you stuffed them with just the beef. I layered everything inside the shells, no sauce poured on the top or under, which did take some time, but they came out Wonderful. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Very good recipe! The flavor was very good. The sauce turned out a bit watery - next time I will drain all the juice out of the tomatoes. I also needed only 1/2 the box of shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe for its simplicity and good flavor. It would have been rather bland as-is so I upped the garlic to a whole teaspoon of minced garlic and then used garlic salt instead of table salt. It was very flavorful at that point and my toddler daughter wolfed it down. Can't wait for the leftovers (and that's rare, for me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States