Stuffed Shells II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This was OK, but I don't think I'll make it again. The sauce just didn't do it for me, and the proportions of cheese/meat/sauce just seemed off to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Course I changed it a bit. Added black olives and artichoke hearts to the sauce. Put cottage cheese, egg and sour creme with chives (I was feeling really creative) in the shells. Cooked for alloted time and the filling was way to runny so I stuck it all back in the oven at 350 for a hour. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
There's so many different things you can add to this recipe that just makes it all round good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
These were okay. Didn't love the cottage cheese/tomato sauce combo as I typically enjoy an unfettered tomato sauce. But, the recipe was easy and fast and lasted us a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I made a double batch of these [one batch is one box of shells]. I used one 16oz. container of cottage cheese, and a lg. container of riccotta cheese. Everything else just doubled or so to our tastes.[ Some of this went in the freezer for a later use.] Also I just used a mix of regular hamburger and Italian sausage, probably almost three pds. of meat altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Very nice flavor in this dish. I used 2T minced dried onion and a clove on minced garlic plus added 1/2 tsp season-all to the meat. I was out of sauce so I used puree. I forgot the oregano, oops! Next time I should add some cheese or something to bind the meat together as it was a mess and the shells didn't stay stuffed when eating. This came out really soupy though so maybe the sauce needs to simmer a while first and thicken before making the dish? This only used half the shells in the package. We all enjoyed this and I'll make it again with some small changes. I think we would have liked the cottage cheese better inside the shells instead of being part of the sauce. Thanks, this was great even though I made errors preparing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Very good recipe! The flavor was very good. The sauce turned out a bit watery - next time I will drain all the juice out of the tomatoes. I also needed only 1/2 the box of shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
First I added an egg- which bound the ingredients together better. I also added a little parmesan and mozzerella which also helped hold everything together. I was feeling too lazy to sautee an onion so I just put a small can of mushrooms in instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
It tastes OK but the meat was too crumbly, didn't stay together and came out of the pasta.I tried to put some of the sauce in the meat but it didn't help much. I gave it only 3 stars because my family ate it without any critics.I don't believe I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe for its simplicity and good flavor. It would have been rather bland as-is so I upped the garlic to a whole teaspoon of minced garlic and then used garlic salt instead of table salt. It was very flavorful at that point and my toddler daughter wolfed it down. Can't wait for the leftovers (and that's rare, for me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States