Stuffed Shells I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I liked it because it was interesting. Cottage cheese instead of Ricotta, for one. The downside is it's vegetarian, no meat. I would suggest adding Italian sausage or other meats to this recipe. Rating: 8/10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casman444

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Made exactly as described. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These were good, and I'll try them again. I did like the cottage cheese a lot. But it wasn't a 5-star recipe for me, although I think it's a really good base to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
My grocery store only had a 12oz box of shells which worked fine. I actually could not fit all of the shells in a 9x13 pan. I also used a whole Tbsp of garlic powder as someone suggested, and I feel this is too much. 1/2 Tbsp would be better. I cooked it for 20 mins covered and then 20 minus uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
very easy to make...the only thing I did different is I used 2 cloves of garlic minced instead of the powder. My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY BERG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsreinarts
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Alright, so I've made this recipe once already and I LOVED it. My husband is a total carnivore, I am planning on making these tonight or tomorrow for dinner and I will add some hamburger or chopped chicken breast to half of the cheese mixture. I always use a different amount of spices to everything I cook but I am sure I will be using fresh garlic, and at least quadrupling it. Oregano, parsley, and basil are regulars in all of my cooking too. My mother used to cook this for my family when I was younger and it would take her such a long time to fill the shells with a spoon. I did use the advice of others and used a Ziploc gallon sized baggie. This TOTALLY helped I couldn't imagine NOT using this. Super helpful. I did add extra sauce to the shells and it was yummy but it made for adding more shells to the pan harder. I think this time I'll add the regular amount of sauce and then cook more on the side to add later. Overall, I think this recipe is just as good as my mother's is, GREAT JOB! This is an excellent recipe! Thank you for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsreinarts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Spring Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Very yummy recipe! I had left over spinach artichoke dip in the refrigerator that I used about 3/4 cup of and reduce the cottage cheese accordingly. Then used Prego meat flavored sauce. Excellent combination! Tasted a lot like lasagna and my husband loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Delicious. My whole family loved it. I used the fresh herbs instead of the dried. Just my prefaced. I used the small curd cottage cheese, but will try lg curd next time to see the difference. I baked it covered for 20 minutes and 15 minutes uncovered as suggested and it came out perfect. This is a keeper as my husband would say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Kemper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This recipe is amazing as is! I LOVE it! I did not have shells, so I used Manicotti. I have made it 3 times, sometimes freezing a batch for hectic nights. I have started making it with sausage/ground beef mixed into the sauce! Makes it even tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Just wanted to let all of you die-hard ricotta fans know that until this past year I, too, would never think of using cottage cheese. I decided to give it a try with lasagna and now I will never go back to ricotta. I tried it in this recipes and again it was fantastic. But don't tell my family. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States