Stuffed Shells I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
wonderful recipe for stuffed shells! great left overs also! i added ricotta cheese to the cottage cheese to get a blend of both cheeses. i cooked bacon and chopped it up and added it to the cheese mixture. i also added chopped fresh spinach to the cheese and it worked out very well! also cooked up a pound of italian sausage with the sauce. i used more garlic and added mozzarella cheese on top of the parm and baked covered 25 min and uncovered 15 min. after all the changes/additions, it turned out AMAZING! i couldnt stop eating it. it is my new favorite pasta dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
so good!!!! used 1/2 cottage cheese and 1/2 ricotta and spread on lasagna noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Good dish. Cooked the shells for seven minute. Used ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by PIDGE
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I followed Sallyjun's recipe to the letter but when I went to stuff the shells using others suggestions of putting mixture in a plastic bag and cutting off a tip to allow mixture to be squeezed out, it was a horrible mess. So, here's what I did. I used my smallest spring loaded scoop, about the size of a golf ball, and filled the scoop to the top and then released the filling into a shell....worked fantastic and there was very little mess. Sometimes these small scoops are hard to find but they are worth their weight in gold. I use it for making cookies. Now back to the recipe. I baked the pasta shells for 20 minutes covering it with non-stick aluminum foil and then removed the foil and baked for another 20 minutes. Turned out perfect. I used Prego which is our favorite red sauce. Hope I've made someone's day with the small spring loaded scoup suggestion. Meanwhile, thanks Sallyjun.....great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIDGE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Delicious basic recipe.I made my own sauce instead of jar Prego.big batch...put some in freezer for later this month.I used fresh parsley to give it a zing...and a splash of apple cider vinegar (it's healthy) in the sauce and in the cheese mixture, fresh chopped finely garlic was amazing in the cheese filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aminarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I liked it because it was interesting. Cottage cheese instead of Ricotta, for one. The downside is it's vegetarian, no meat. I would suggest adding Italian sausage or other meats to this recipe. Rating: 8/10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casman444

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Made exactly as described. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These were good, and I'll try them again. I did like the cottage cheese a lot. But it wasn't a 5-star recipe for me, although I think it's a really good base to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
My grocery store only had a 12oz box of shells which worked fine. I actually could not fit all of the shells in a 9x13 pan. I also used a whole Tbsp of garlic powder as someone suggested, and I feel this is too much. 1/2 Tbsp would be better. I cooked it for 20 mins covered and then 20 minus uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
very easy to make...the only thing I did different is I used 2 cloves of garlic minced instead of the powder. My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY BERG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States