Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Good stuff! made a few changes that really improved it! We started with uncooked pork sausage (a package of hot and regular....we like alot of meat) Browned the meat with the onions (used both green and white) while cleaning and preparing the mushrooms. Used 4 large caps, 1/2 cup of ricotta and a cup of shredded cheese blend. Filled them up and topped them off with a lil sprinkle of cheese and the balsamic. Cooked about 20 minutes for the mushroom to cook. SO GOOD!!! the balsamic adds such a great flavor!! We used this as a mean instead of a side, which is why we chose the large caps and alot of meat. Forgot the tomatoes so just left them out. Highly recommend this recipe! Especially with my own personal touches = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Like the reviews recommended, I cooked these for for 12 minutes and they came out perfectly. I only made four mushrooms worth, and used extra filling for omelets the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This recipe was wonderful! My dinner guests and I really enjoyed it! I made a few changes based on what I had at home: I cooked 4 slices of bacon, diced and set aside. I sauteed diced white onion in a little of the leftover bacon grease along with some fresh minced garlic. I subbed ground chicken breasts for the sausage, and added that to the onion/garlic mixture. When it had cooled a bit, I added the chicken/garlic/onion and the diced bacon to the cheeses, green onion, and tomatoes and used it to stuff 5 large portobello caps. I drizzled with the balsamic, sprinkled with cheese and baked as directed. It was AMAZING! Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
The recipe is great, but a bit salty. The vinegar added just enough zing for the finish. Even my husband who is not a big mushroom fan enjoyed them...which makes it a huge hit in my book. I think next time, I might use more ricotta cheese, less of the mixed cheeses and sausage to try and decrease the saltiness. This is definitely worth trying with creminis to make an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
fantastic. used italian turkey sausage and sauteed before adding to other ingredients. for an appetizer I suggest buying baby portobellos and stuffing individually. much easier to serve and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made this for company and they raved about it! I didn't change a thing in the recipe. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I liked it, Boyfriend did not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Fantastic!! I added a dash of garlic powder though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is delicious and filling. I could only eat a half of a portabella mushroom. I sautéed sweet sausage until browned and added it to the other ingredients. Easy and delicious. Unfortunately I forgot the balsamic vinegar. Ah well, it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was so good and easy! We raise our own pigs so I used our sausage and drained the sausage really well. Oops, just noticed I forgot the vinegar. But my entire family of picky eaters give this recipe 2 thumbs up! BTW - the recipe is awesome but the calories are way understated. Each serving is about 420. You may be able to reduce that by using lower fat cheese and turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States