Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
We used maple sausage and didn't skimp on the balsamic drizzle. Just plain delicious. My husband even said he would like to have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
These are great. I think they would be great stuffing in the medium button mushrooms too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Ran into a few problems with these. First you have to wash the caps but no matter how well I dried them and how long I let them sit they just wouldn't get completely dry. I then filled them accordingly and baked 12 minutes per reviews. The caps were done but the mixture of olive oil, grease from the sausage and water ran all over the place. Lastly to help I had to broil them for a minute or two but alas nothing helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Good stuff! made a few changes that really improved it! We started with uncooked pork sausage (a package of hot and regular....we like alot of meat) Browned the meat with the onions (used both green and white) while cleaning and preparing the mushrooms. Used 4 large caps, 1/2 cup of ricotta and a cup of shredded cheese blend. Filled them up and topped them off with a lil sprinkle of cheese and the balsamic. Cooked about 20 minutes for the mushroom to cook. SO GOOD!!! the balsamic adds such a great flavor!! We used this as a mean instead of a side, which is why we chose the large caps and alot of meat. Forgot the tomatoes so just left them out. Highly recommend this recipe! Especially with my own personal touches = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Like the reviews recommended, I cooked these for for 12 minutes and they came out perfectly. I only made four mushrooms worth, and used extra filling for omelets the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This recipe was wonderful! My dinner guests and I really enjoyed it! I made a few changes based on what I had at home: I cooked 4 slices of bacon, diced and set aside. I sauteed diced white onion in a little of the leftover bacon grease along with some fresh minced garlic. I subbed ground chicken breasts for the sausage, and added that to the onion/garlic mixture. When it had cooled a bit, I added the chicken/garlic/onion and the diced bacon to the cheeses, green onion, and tomatoes and used it to stuff 5 large portobello caps. I drizzled with the balsamic, sprinkled with cheese and baked as directed. It was AMAZING! Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
The recipe is great, but a bit salty. The vinegar added just enough zing for the finish. Even my husband who is not a big mushroom fan enjoyed them...which makes it a huge hit in my book. I think next time, I might use more ricotta cheese, less of the mixed cheeses and sausage to try and decrease the saltiness. This is definitely worth trying with creminis to make an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
fantastic. used italian turkey sausage and sauteed before adding to other ingredients. for an appetizer I suggest buying baby portobellos and stuffing individually. much easier to serve and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made this for company and they raved about it! I didn't change a thing in the recipe. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I liked it, Boyfriend did not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States