Stuffed Pork Roast with Herb Seasoned Artichoke and Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Five stars - WITH some small, but certainly not minor, modifications. To rate this any lower might risk turning people off to trying it, and this roast was too good to risk that. I started with a not quite three pound roast, which I had my meat cutter butterfly for me. Because of its size, I basically reduced the stuffing ingredients by half. Using fresh mushrooms, shallots and garlic I made a duxelles - finely mince the ingredients, saute in butter for several minutes until it sort of resembles a paste, then deglaze with a splash of white wine. To that I added the artichokes and parsley, a cup of chicken broth (remember, I'm making about half a recipe of stuffing) and only enough Herb Seasoned Stuffing to absorb the broth. Added salt and pepper to taste. Rather than plopping the stuffing all in the center of the roast I spread it over the entire roast (which I salt and peppered as well), to within a half inch of the edges, creating a pinwheel effect. After tieing the roast with kitchen twine as directed in the recipe, I roasted it at 450 degrees for 10 minutes, then lowered the temperature to 350 and roasted it for another hour, until an instant read thermometer read 155 degrees. The meat was moist and tender, and the stuffing phenomenal, possibly the best I've ever had. This was just for me and Hubs but it was so beautiful and elegant it would be a great company entree to impress. This involves more than the usual preparation, but it was worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
As written, 4 stars. If you brine your pork loin, you have potential! I don't care for mushrooms or artichoke hearts in my stuffing, so I added some dried cranberries and like others, garlic. To brine a pork loin of 3-6 lbs, mix 1/4 cup each of table salt and sugar in 2 quarts of water. Soak the pork in this brine for 1.5-2 hrs. This will make your meat so much more flavorful and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
My sister-in-law had us over for dinner and served this dish. Let me just ask if you've seen the scene from When Harry Met Sally where Harry and Sally are in the restaurant?? Well, that would explain how delicious this dish is! For those of you who haven't seen this movie let's just say it's better than, ummm, well I think you get the picture. Truly my favorite dish EVER! As long as donuts aren't considered a dish. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Cilley
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Just a suggestion for all of you who seem to have dry meat issues- get a meat thermometer and you will never have dried out meat again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Very original recipe. I happened to have a pork loin I needed a recipe for, this fit the bill perfectly. Very easy to make, flavorful stuffing. Only suggestions would be some sort of glaze or gravy for the meat because that was a little lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Saxon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Im not to into semi homemade! Making your own stuffing instead oif using a mnix is just as easyand you can adjust flavors to your liking. The one thing that is a MUST for me when youre making a stuffed loin is you HAVE to sear the outside before you bake! After its tied just place into a skillet of med-hot oil and turn until a nice browned sear on all sides. Then pop into your pan and into oven!This not only makes the meat ALOT more moist after baking, but keeps the seasoning on the meat instead of having it washed away during cooking, it looks a lot nicer to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made my own homemade stuffing. I also rubbed the pork with some olive oil and added italian seasoning (about 1 tbls) before baking. Very similar to a pork tenderloin with stuffing recipe on this sight (which is probably cheaper to make!). Came out very yummy, although I always overcook my pork because my husband does not like to see any pink....but that is my problem! This is really a recipe for stuffing when you think about it, so I don't know how helpful my review is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great recipe, didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Very good roast. The stuffing was superb. I did cut the stuffing in half and still had some to cook on the side. Next time I'll season the meat a little more, but I do recommend this recipe. It was excellent and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made the stuffing but used it in a turkey roll for Christmas eve dinner. It was a huge it, so much so that my mom asked that I make the stuffing a tradition going forward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Ysbrand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States