Stuffed Pork Chops with Gorgonzola and Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I tried this tonight after searching for something different to do with the pork chops I had and I have to say that this recipe was delicious! For those who complained that their pork chops were dry, take the time to brine them first...you will never have dry tasteless pork chops again. (Brine...1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup Kosher salt dissolved in 3 cups water + add 2 cups ice. Soak in brine for up to 2hrs. NB. If you use ordinary salt instead of Kosher you MUST cut down on the amount or it will be way too salty). I used 1 inch thick bone-in chops and brined them for about 90 min before drying them and stuffing them with the apple/gorganzola filling. Then I seasoned them with pepper, dredged them in flour and pan fried them just to give a golden brown colour before finishing them in the oven for 20 minutes. Then left them about 10 minutes to rest under foil while I prepared the sauce. Yum! Perfect "gourmet" comfort food for a chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
One suggestion- after I stuffed the chops, I seared them in some hot olive oil in a heavy-bottomed skillet before i baked them. Just long enough to golden-brown the outside of the chops. they stayed perfectly moist inside, and got a little more of the crispy, carmelized flavor you expect from grilled pork. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I made this for dinner guests last night and was a little nervous that they might not like the strong flavor of the gorgonzola. But they thought it was fantastic and there wasn't a scrap left. The combination of the cheese and apples is wonderful and not overpowering in the least. I was confused about "reincorporating" the cheese but took it to mean that the cheese needed to be completely blended. Take time with the sauce. It does take a while to turn a darker brown but that really does contribute to the flavor. Thank you for this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I've been searching for a recipe for Christmas dinner, and I think I've found it! However, instead of using pork chops, I butterflied a pork roast, stuffed it, tied with string, and roasted at 350 degrees for 1.5-2 hours depending on size of roast. Beautiful and tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
This is a great recipe. I originally looked it up and used it for a special occasion, for which purpose it is perfect. However, it is easy enough and I liked it so much that I think I'll use it any time I have the extra time to spoil myself with a great dinner. The gorgonzola is not overpowering in the stuffing or the sauce. Pork chops baked with apples are an old stand-by, but here their use is delectable. The final result with sherry sauce and all is delicious and sophisticated. I followed the author's suggestion serving spiced potatoes with onions (try Lipton's soup mix for a short-cut) and added dilled pea pods and baby carrots. The combination was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
If you want to make something special, you have found it. This IS the recipe!! You must enjoy Gorgonzola (or the flavor of bleu cheese), though. I found the recipe to be a bit time consuming... but well WELL worth it. When making the sauce, be sure to follow the instructions and reduce the liquid to a dark brown. It will happen and don't be nervous. Yum! Yum! Yum! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This recipe is really easy and so incredibly good. My husband is a pizza kind of guy and he LOVED it! He even said it would be good to add into our weekly routine. That's saying something! I did it the first time with blue cheese crumbles and it tasted great. I've done it with gorgonzola as well and it tasted pretty much the same. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
While this is an excellent idea and excellent flavor combination, the sauce is a problem. In order to brown it, you have to reduce it so far down that it becomes super salty and overpowering (plus it takes quite a while). I would definitely make this again, but either leave the sauce off entirely, leave it white, or brown the chops in a pan and use that to brown my sauce. This turned out really good in the end, but it did take some serious caressing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Maybe it was the Gorgonzola cheese, but the pork chops tasted as bad as they smelled. I also couldn't taste the apple in the stuffing. Great idea, bad taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I've made this a few times and it's always a hit. Gorgonzola is too strong for my hubby so I use regular blue cheese and I saute extra apples to put in the sauce on top. Like others, I brown the pork chops before baking and I use the same pan to make the sauce, which helps give it a richer flavor a bit faster. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States