Stuffed Pork Chops with Gorgonzola and Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I liked this very much. The cheese may be an acquired taste for some, but I have always loved gorgonzola cheese. This is an easy meal and looks very impressive to serve to company. I used white wine instead of sherry otherwise I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I had a tough time rating this one. I think it's a 4 (good, not great), hubby thinks a 3 (fair). I think the taste kinda grows on you as you eat it. You MUST like this type of cheese, or I am sure it would be unappealing to you. The apple flavor did get a little lost in there, and I actually added extra. Final verdict is that I liked this well enough, and it was worth trying, but I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I made this one night for my boyfriend and he loved it. To cut out a few calories I left off the sauce (just seasoned with salt and pepper) and added turkey bacon to the stuffing. It is one of his and my favorite meals. Plus it is really quick. It goes well with a baked baby potatoes and fresh steamed green beans. Any leftover stuffing that won't fit in the chops can be saved and used as a salad topping for lunch the next day with some walnuts added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is terrific. The only thing I did different was add more apple and gorgonzola. I have made it 3x's and everyone loves it. I did not have any sherry the last time I made it and used some chardonnay instead and the sauce tasted the same. Love the thyme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZANNEHENDRIX

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These turned out really well. I used blue cheese instead of gorgonzola b/c that is what I had on hand. They are pretty similar in taste and texture, so it wasn't a major difference. One thing is that the apple flavor really didn't stand out. I don't know if I should add more next time or saute in apple juice instead of butter to bring that flavor out. Next time, I would also like to sear the chops before placing in the oven, just for appearance and texture. Finally, these did NOT take an hour. I had nice, thick chops and I baked them for about 38 minutes. Honestly, I should have pulled them out a few minutes sooner even. They definitely reguistered 160 at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was very yummy, my husband really enjoyed it as well. I used about 1C to 1 1/2 Cup of apple for our stuffing, when it cooks down there didn't seem to be much there. I also dusted the pork shop with seasoning salt and garlic pepper once it was stuffed before baking. Also, on the sauce mine never really browned, so I added two teaspoons of cornstarch to the last 1/4 C of chicken broth and it thickened right up with no impact to the flavor. Loved the sauce might try it on pasta with chicken soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
i made this for my boyfriend a few weeks ago and he honestly is still talking abou it. thanksgiving was 2 days ago and at the meal, he was telling my family about the chops. he says it was something he'd get in a NY restaurant. My only issue was that the gorgonzola was soooo overpowering to me. he loved it, i hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
While this is an excellent idea and excellent flavor combination, the sauce is a problem. In order to brown it, you have to reduce it so far down that it becomes super salty and overpowering (plus it takes quite a while). I would definitely make this again, but either leave the sauce off entirely, leave it white, or brown the chops in a pan and use that to brown my sauce. This turned out really good in the end, but it did take some serious caressing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
An expensive disappointment! Maybe this recipe is just too 'gourmet' for me to pull off with my *apparently limited* skills, but it came out pretty bad. Even though I took the extra time to brine the pork as recommended by another reviewer, it still came out tough and dry. Other than adding that step, I followed the recipe as written. The flavors of the stuffing were OK together although I thought the thyme overpowered both the apples and cheese. The cheese never really melted into the sauce (again, that might be a technique thing that I just didn't do well). Somehow the sauce came out VERY salty even though I didn't add any salt, aside from the brine. I will not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
this recipe was very good. i thought it took a bit too long to make and it was a bit rich, but my husband (whoo hoo, im five days into my marriage) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States