Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
I found that the sauce in this recipie was not enough, as there was none in the bottom of the pan for basting. Also, it was a little to thick.I think a thinner sauce and more of it, would make for better basting. This recipie did not specify wheather to bake covered or not. This can definately affect baking results.I would, however try this dish again, making certain revisions. It was pretty good but could stand some improvements.***UPDATE- I originaly gave this recipe 4 stars, however,I have made some revitions and will now give this recipe 5 stars. Here is what I do....Do not precook the ground beef. Mix uncooked beef with 1/2 C instant rice. (saves time) Instead of garlic and onion powder,sautee 1 small onion, finely chopped, and 2 cloves minced garlic in olive oil prior to adding to meat mixture. Also I add 1/2 of a 15 oz can of italian style stewed or diced tomatoes and 1/2 t italian seasoning to meat mixture. For the sauce I use 1 15 oz can of tomato sauce, remaining 1/2 can of tomatoes, pureed,a dash of sugar and 1/2 t of italian seasoning. Or,you can substitute jared marinara sauce for tomato sauce in both meat mixture and over the top. This works well. These can also be cooked in a slow cooker on high for 2 1/2-3 hrs or untill thermometer inserted into center reads 160 degrees. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
568 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
It tastes delicious!! However, I would use 2 cans of the tomato sauce instead of one (at least). Regarding to the baking time I would suggest 30 minutes more or until the bell peppers get brown on the top. My husband is very picky but I was amazed how he really enjoy them alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
I throughly enjoyed this recipe. Easy to prepare and a good comfort food. This was the first time I prepared the filling with uncooked chop meat and found that the meat/filling tasted much better. VERY SATISIFYING!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This is almost exactly how I make stuffed peppers. Except that I brown and season the meat before hand, pour off the oil , mix in the remaing ingredients,stuff the peppers, and then cover during baking. I never baste...the steam does the basting for me. The last five minutes of baking remove cover and sprinkle grated mozzarella or cheddar over each pepper for added flavor if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3573 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
i have always had trouble with the peppers being to bitter.i never eat the pepper. with this recipe they were not bitter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was easy to make, and had a great flavor to it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
I fondly remember stuffed green peppers from my childhood, and this recipe hit it dead on! I loved it! I agree with the others about adding more tomato sauce, and there isn't enough to baste. But it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
MY HUSBAND LOVED IT. HE HAD NEVER HAD STUFFED PEPPERS BEFORE THAT TASTED LIKE THIS!! EXCELLENT FLAVOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
This recipe was delicious. My fiance cleaned his plate and mentioned how much he enjoyed it several times. I used more tomato sauce and boiled the peppers first for 4-5 min, followed by placing them in a cold bath of water and rinsing well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This is a wonderful and tastey recipe. I added extra spices because my family likes things a little spicier. It was easy to make & was very very good. Even my 2 yr. old son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States