Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This is almost exactly how I make stuffed peppers. Except that I brown and season the meat before hand, pour off the oil , mix in the remaing ingredients,stuff the peppers, and then cover during baking. I never baste...the steam does the basting for me. The last five minutes of baking remove cover and sprinkle grated mozzarella or cheddar over each pepper for added flavor if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3658 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Loved the recipe but the green peppers need to be blanched before being put into the oven. Put green peppers into boiling water for 1 - 2 minutes then quickly put in ice water. Then proceed with recipe as is. Green pepper have a much better consistency this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2766 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Note: We have updated this recipe to include a step for browning the beef prior to stuffing the peppers. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1918 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
I found that the sauce in this recipie was not enough, as there was none in the bottom of the pan for basting. Also, it was a little to thick.I think a thinner sauce and more of it, would make for better basting. This recipie did not specify wheather to bake covered or not. This can definately affect baking results.I would, however try this dish again, making certain revisions. It was pretty good but could stand some improvements.***UPDATE- I originaly gave this recipe 4 stars, however,I have made some revitions and will now give this recipe 5 stars. Here is what I do....Do not precook the ground beef. Mix uncooked beef with 1/2 C instant rice. (saves time) Instead of garlic and onion powder,sautee 1 small onion, finely chopped, and 2 cloves minced garlic in olive oil prior to adding to meat mixture. Also I add 1/2 of a 15 oz can of italian style stewed or diced tomatoes and 1/2 t italian seasoning to meat mixture. For the sauce I use 1 15 oz can of tomato sauce, remaining 1/2 can of tomatoes, pureed,a dash of sugar and 1/2 t of italian seasoning. Or,you can substitute jared marinara sauce for tomato sauce in both meat mixture and over the top. This works well. These can also be cooked in a slow cooker on high for 2 1/2-3 hrs or untill thermometer inserted into center reads 160 degrees. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
591 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This was my first time to make stuffed peppers. I steamed my peppers for about 15 minutes before hand to soften and to reduce cooking time. While cooking the meat, I added ALOT of onion powder and 2 cloves of garlic, minced. I used brown rice. I mixed together with regular tomato sauce and worcestershire. Then topped with basil, oregano, garlic tomato sauce because that was the only other can I had available. I baked at 350 for 30 minutes, I did not baste every 15 minutes. They turned out tender, not mushy, and wonderful. My husband has never had stuffed peppers in his life and loved them, actually went back for seconds. My children (10 & 6)topped theirs with parmesean cheese and ate the meat out of the middle, thought it tasted like the meat used in spaghetti sauce. They both tried a taste of the pepper, which made mom happy. Maybe next time they'll try more. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
575 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I followed suit with the reviewer who dirtied only one skillet to cook the rice and beef. I sauteed 1/2 onion, and a few cloves of garlic for 10 min. I removed and browned meat(used the beef, pork, veal mix for better flavor) draining all the gross grease and returned the tasty onion mixture back again. I then added the 2 cans of tomato sauce, worcestershire sauce, rice, salt, pepper, italian seasoning, and a dash of paprika, and 1 cup water like the other reviewer suggested(dont think it really needed all that water-maybe half) and let it simmer for 20 minutes. Toward the end I added in some shredded cheddar cheese(love cheese). I stuffed red, orange, and yellow peppers and placed in a casserole dish on top of tomato sauce and baked as directed. They were good but I tend to like a little more rice in my stuffed peppers so next time I will add a tad more rice..otherwise these were very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
446 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
These turned out DELICIOUS and flavorful! Even with a few substitutions: Used ground turkey vs. ground beef, added a can of diced tomatoes with roasted garlic (omitted garlic powder) to ground turkey before stuffing, used 2 tsp. of italian dressing (fat-free) vs. 1 tsp., omitted the worchestershire sauce, covered it with foil so no basting needed. This recipe did yield enough filling for only 4 large bell peppers like the other reviewers stated, which made 1 bell pepper too much for one person. Next time, I'll try and make it for 6 small bell peppers (so there will be enough room for side dishes!). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I actually used this recipe with the fresh garlic and onion(I also used one cup of minute rice...all that I had). I stuffed the peppers with an uncooked meat and rice mixture and put it all in my crockpot. I also put more tomato sauce over everything. Let it cook on low for 8-10 hours. Easy and it kept the house cooler on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Very good, I added onion & garlic as well, YUM! I "microwave steam" the pepper (in my Pampered Chef micro steamer...I love it) for mine, but my hubby likes them cooked per the recipe (a little crisp) he loves them! Sometimes I mix 1/2 beef & 1/2 pork. Thanks Bonnie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I made this drunk. In a toaster oven. With ketchup and sliced cheese. Also, no worcesterrshire sauce or onoin powder or garlic powder. It was amazing. I'm still drunk. And it's still amazing. Rock on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 888) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States