Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2000
Excellent flavor and a fun way to enjoy the fruit of your garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
I found that the sauce in this recipie was not enough, as there was none in the bottom of the pan for basting. Also, it was a little to thick.I think a thinner sauce and more of it, would make for better basting. This recipie did not specify wheather to bake covered or not. This can definately affect baking results.I would, however try this dish again, making certain revisions. It was pretty good but could stand some improvements.***UPDATE- I originaly gave this recipe 4 stars, however,I have made some revitions and will now give this recipe 5 stars. Here is what I do....Do not precook the ground beef. Mix uncooked beef with 1/2 C instant rice. (saves time) Instead of garlic and onion powder,sautee 1 small onion, finely chopped, and 2 cloves minced garlic in olive oil prior to adding to meat mixture. Also I add 1/2 of a 15 oz can of italian style stewed or diced tomatoes and 1/2 t italian seasoning to meat mixture. For the sauce I use 1 15 oz can of tomato sauce, remaining 1/2 can of tomatoes, pureed,a dash of sugar and 1/2 t of italian seasoning. Or,you can substitute jared marinara sauce for tomato sauce in both meat mixture and over the top. This works well. These can also be cooked in a slow cooker on high for 2 1/2-3 hrs or untill thermometer inserted into center reads 160 degrees. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
553 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2000
These tasted wonderful. My husband loved them, although he said they would taste even better with some cheese. I also couldn't baste them liked the recipe said, because there was no liquid or sauce to do that with. I used an extra can of sauce, and there still wasn't enough to baste with. But, this is a great recipe that really pleased my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
It tastes delicious!! However, I would use 2 cans of the tomato sauce instead of one (at least). Regarding to the baking time I would suggest 30 minutes more or until the bell peppers get brown on the top. My husband is very picky but I was amazed how he really enjoy them alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
the peppers needed to cook more before putting them in the oven, maybe boiling them first would make them a little more tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
I was in a rush and did not have the Italian seasoning or the Worcestershire sauce, so I used spaghetti sauce instead. They turned out GREAT! My 8 year old and 14 month old gobbled the filling right up! I also did not baste them in the sauce, instead I poured the leftover spaghetti sauce on them after they came out of the oven. I will definitely make this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
I throughly enjoyed this recipe. Easy to prepare and a good comfort food. This was the first time I prepared the filling with uncooked chop meat and found that the meat/filling tasted much better. VERY SATISIFYING!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
An easy and great recipe for stuffed peppers. My husband and I really enjoyed. I did make a couple of revisions though, instead of tomato sauce I used a jar of tomato and basil spaghetti sauce. Then during the last 5 minutes of cooking I sprinkled the peppers w/mozzarella cheese. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
Read the reviews before cooking. I boiled the peppers for 3 minutes before stuffing. I modified the filling with prepared spaghetti sauce and more spices, they still were a little to bland for me. Will be more heavy handed with the spices next time. Also, they took longer than an hour to cook more like a hour and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
i have always had trouble with the peppers being to bitter.i never eat the pepper. with this recipe they were not bitter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States