Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I sauté onions and dice plum tomatoes as well (a good alternative if not using tomato sauce). I also added sharp provolone cheese in my mixture and used sausage this time vs. ground meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Made recipe as written. Bland. Definitely needs more flavor. And I read several reviews saying to thin out the tomato sauce that is poured over the top. I did NOT do that as I was sticking to the original recipe. I SHOULD HAVE done that! It was too thick and started to burn on the bottom, so I had to add water to the bottom of the pan. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I am going to try this recipe, but here's my changes: I'm going to cook the rice about 1/2 way done, because cooking it completely, and then cooking it in the oven for an hour makes me worry that it'll be overcooked, and overcooked rice is nasty. I'm going to sub half the ground beef for sausage, I'm going to replace the tomato sauce for a chunky, homemade salsa type mixture that I make. And then I'm going to blanch the peppers beforehand. I'm estimating about half an hour max in the oven will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I used to hate bell peppers and now I love cooking them this way! I made them today and I was kind of lazy to go buy tomatoe sauce etc etc.. so I used a can of store bought spaghetti sauce.. .99 cents :) all I did was brown the meat, steamed the rice.. mixed together with the spaghetti sauce and added some parmesan cheese to the mixture and then spooned inside of the peppers and baked for 45 mins and topped with mozzarella cheese and omg it was soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla Udave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I just used this recipe as a base and did my own thing.....I cut the peppers long ways in half and just used 3, then layed them out in a casserole dish; cooked the hamburger with all the spices except W sauce, also used minced onion and a tiny sprinkle of onion powder. Then I filled the halves with the hamburger (added the W sauce after it cooled a tiny bit), sprinkled a small amount of uncooked rice over each one and put the rest of the rice (up to one cup) in the bottom of the casserole and covered with a large can of crushed tomatoes and 2 very small cans of tomato juice. Cover with tin foil and cook up to 2 hours or until the rice is cooked and the peppers are tender. My hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I agree in that there was not enough extra sauce to use for basting. I opted to use seasoned stewed tomatoes as extra sauce. Worked really well! Next time I will blanch or steam them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I've made these several times already and my husband and I love them. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
As far as stuffed peppers go, I think it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
My husband and I have never had stuffed peppers and we LOVED these!! Will definitely make these again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Easy and delicious! I followed the ingredients list except that I used brown instead of white rice. I also sprinkled some cheddar cheese on the peppers for the last 10 minutes in the oven. (The recipe photo shows cheese on top.) I baked my peppers covered which steamed the peppers as they were baking. Will make again and possibly add mushrooms and actual onion i/o onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 893) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States