Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
My husband loves his mother's stuffed pepper recipe. It calls for tomato juice laced with brown sugar for basting. She cooks hers on top of the stove. I made half of this recipe. I made some changes: I added 2-3 T. of brown sugar to the stuffing, used crushed tomatoes because my local grocery store doesn't carry tomato sauce (the consistency is fairly close), used brown rice instead of white, put all of the tomatoes in with the meat and rice before stuffing, and covered the peppers with their tops for baking. I wish that I had followed someone's suggestion of blanching the peppers first. I didn't feel like the pepper was cooked enough which is why I gave this recipe a 4 instead of a 5. My husband was satisfied with the sweetness of the stuffing with the little bit of brown sugar added. The sweetness was pretty light actually. I believe that sugar is added to tomato sauce, but not to crushed tomatoes, so what I added may have been just enough to make up the difference. The ground beef that I buy is quite lean, so I never drain it after cooking. I used some leftover rice that I had in my freezer, so I thought this recipe was quick and easy. My husband (the dishwasher) was pleased that I didn't dirty a lot of pots in making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Enjoyed the recipe a lot but the peppers should be covered for the first 30 minutes of cooking and uncovered for the last 30 minutes so that the peppers come out a little more tender and not so tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Revere, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is a very good recipe, But I added pine nuts and diced onions, garlic minced, and diced celery, I also added extra basil and additional Worcestershire sauce and Italian seasoning, Julianne carrots maybe good in it also. may like to beat one egg and add to the meat mixture prior to filling peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I add chopped mushrooms and onions...perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Great base recipe, but here's my version. Boiled peppers first for 2 minutes then allow to cool. Brown 1lb turkey w/ 1c chopped onion and 1tsp minced garlic, 1 tsp salt and pepper. I then added the suggested tomato sauce mixture and rice. After stuffing the peppers, the sauce seemed quite thick and didnt leave anything for me to baste with...not a problem. Baked for 45 mins covered then uncovered and topped with sharp cheddar the last 5 mins. They were so frikin good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lybra975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was my first time making stuffed peppers...I couldn't baste as directed to keep the peppers moist so i covered with tin foil during baking and they came out AWESOME.....thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Just added some water in the baking dish before putting it in the oven. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Great recipe! I did sautee diced onion with hamburger while browning. I add 1 cup crushed saltines to the beef mixture because my husband doesn't like rice. Mixed 1 8oz can tomato sauce and a couple tablespoons of catsup in beef and added 1/2 cup each parmesan and shredded cheddar. I didn't blanch the peppers.Cover 1/2 way through cooking.Huge hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is a great recipe...sometimes I vary and make them with sloppy joe sauce instead of the tomatoes etc...then you need very little extra seasonings..gives it a great flavor...I also like to use brown rice........also I put mine in a muffin pan with a little water in each place and then place the pepper in the tin......works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This recipe is good for a starting point. I used more onion and garlic powder than called for. I eyeballed my measurements but I used about a tsp of each. I also did not baste as there is not enough sauce as the recipe is written for basting. They are fine without basting and the sauce on top of each pepper. I also top with cheese because well, cheese makes everything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 897) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States