Stuffed Peppers My Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Yum! I love these, and make them about 3 times each month! My vegetarian husband loves these as well. What's great about this recipe is how much you can adapt the recipe. I like to make these peppers the night after making a stir fry, to use up extra cooked rice. I have also stuffed the peppers with leftover risotto from the previous night's dinner. I find the salt in the feta is plenty, so I don't add any extra. These are great to use up any vegetables you have on hand (I have thrown in corn, broccoli, mushrooms, etc.), and I love to use fresh basil in these. Also, regular onions are fine if you don't have green onions on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Great Recipe! I made a few changes. I added ground beef, fresh garlic, and minced yellow onion. I also used whole peppers. A great tip for making sure your whole peppers don't fall over in the oven is to place them sitting in a muffin pan. Works great! This was the easiest and most delcious stuffed pepper recipe I have made! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
So Yummmy! I roasted red, yellow and green peppers for 15 minutes. I sauteed onion,garlic, and fresh basil, parsley and chives for 5 min then added small cut up pieces of chicken breasts. Let that sautee for 15 min also adding in cut up pieces of zucchini, brocolli, carrot, and 2 tomatoes. Added the feta and stuffed my pepps with this and topped with fresh grated parmesan cheese and cooked for the extra five minutes. (I did season rice mixture w/ sea salt, pepper, and paprika for some added spice) ABSOLUTELY delicious. Great base recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Colorful and tasty departure from your ordinary side dish. I used red, orange, yellow and green peppers, which made this particularly pretty and bright. I coated them lightly with olive oil and sprinkled them with sea salt and freshly ground pepper before roasting them for just 20 minutes, which was perfect. I cooked the arborio rice in chicken broth and a little butter, and added fresh minced garlic to the sauteed onions and herbs. Once mixed altogether with the chopped tomatoes, it looked like it could use a little color, so I threw in a handful of fresh, minced parsley. As for the feta, since hubs can't stand it I subbed some freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano instead (which he also doesn't like, but so be it). At this point I just put them back in the turned off oven until I got the rest of dinner plated and it worked out well. To finish, I gave them a light sprinkle of truffle sea salt. While not a masterpiece, it still was a healthy, tasty and pretty alternative to the routine vegetable/starch side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Absolutely amazing!!! I made this for a dinner party of ten people and everybody loved it. I did change it a little. I used red peppers instead of green, Greek seasoning instead of Italian and added spinach to the filling. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Love, love, love this recipe! I did make a few slight alterations. I cooked up fresh garlic with red onions, instead of green. I use fresh basil, when I have it. I ended up using a brown, medium grain rice since I did not have Arborio. To add extra moisture to the rice, I used a little vegetable broth. I also used a can of diced tomatoes, drained, in replace of the fresh tomato, which I also did not have at the time. I have made this at home many times, it is one of my 8 year old daughter's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
These were fantastic. I cut the salt in half and rubbed olive oil on the insides and outsides of the peppers before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
Delicious! I used a short-grain white rice that was a lot less expensive than arborio; it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
These were great, and they were so much better than the usual stuffed peppers. I did a few things different. I added beef to half, I used yellow saffron rice, added garlic and used more feta. I also topped them with Mozzarella cheese. GREAT! I will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deineria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This recipe was really good. There were a couple of things that I did differently--first I used a yellow and an orange pepper instead of green (I personally don't like the green ones). The time given was waaayyyy too long to cook it--I'd say halve the time. Also I added fresh garlic (as I'm garlic obsessed) and I had some pitted kalamata olives--they were really good in there! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 666) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States