Stuffed Peppers My Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I really like the way these turned out. As per the other reviews, I added garlic to my filling. I also added some lentils to my rice (I usually throw some dried lentils in with any rice, bumping up to a complete vegetarian protein) which made this was a fantastic meal and side dish to eat over a couple of days. For a vegan version I skipped on the feta and instead added nutritional yeast flakes and a bit of salt to give it a cheesy flavour. I couldn't stop eating the filling from the pan! Usually I find stuffed peppers to have really flavourful filling but the pepper itself always seems under-seasoned; I think the salty feta must take care of that problem. Although even the vegan version I made was probably one of my favourite stuffed peppers ever -- good with or without cheese! Not usually a big fan but these totally won me over. I even bought some big bell peppers so I could make this again this week! I imagine you could definitely use any type of rice in this. I may try a brown or wild rice mix next time. Great thing to add to rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was a huge hit with even my pickiest eater. I did use what I had on hand, so I made it with brown rice. Instead of green peppers, I had red, orange and yellow peppers. I had Spanish onion instead of green. I also added a little parmesan cheese and topped with mozzarella. Oh, yeah, I had leftover filling from a chicken dish which was spinach, feta and a few seasonings which I mixed in. Okay, I guess I totally overhauled the recipe, but it worked and my suggestion is that this is a wonderful base recipe that you can twist and turn to suit whatever you have in the house and what your taste prefers. The cheese on top allowed my picky 7 year old to ask me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Amazing recipe! I used wild rice and tasted great. I also skipped "Italian seasoning" and just threw in some Italian type spices. The feta is a perfect cheese. Easy to make and the family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I made this pretty much as written except that I had red peppers and it's wonderful! My husband raved and raved. This is a great meatless dish. Next time I'll double the recipe so I can have leftovers. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very flavorful. This was my first time making stuffed peppers and I can't wait for my second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Chris Harrison Boeh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I always use this for my vegetarian daughter on nights the rest of the family has meat. Very flavorful and easy to make. I use basmati rice cooked in vegetable broth. I also cut up some of the pepper caps and sauté with the tomato mixture. Cooking the stuffed peppers in muffin pans is a great tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Added fresh parsley and used less feta and less salt. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Fantastic recipe! This one is part of our regular rotation and strikes a great balance between being substantial without being heavy. We eat this as a main dish, and I'm always filled up without feeling weighed down. The only thing that I changed was substituting a mix of parsley, oregano, and basil for the Italian seasoning and using different colored peppers--both minor changes. The peppers I used were a bit smaller, and I found that 25 to 30 minutes in the oven made them overcooked and mushy. 15 to 20 minutes was adequate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
this was good~~~ very easy~~ but lacked a little spice I would add a little hot sauce or salsa next time but overall nice easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States