Stuffed Peppers My Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Yum! I love these, and make them about 3 times each month! My vegetarian husband loves these as well. What's great about this recipe is how much you can adapt the recipe. I like to make these peppers the night after making a stir fry, to use up extra cooked rice. I have also stuffed the peppers with leftover risotto from the previous night's dinner. I find the salt in the feta is plenty, so I don't add any extra. These are great to use up any vegetables you have on hand (I have thrown in corn, broccoli, mushrooms, etc.), and I love to use fresh basil in these. Also, regular onions are fine if you don't have green onions on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Great Recipe! I made a few changes. I added ground beef, fresh garlic, and minced yellow onion. I also used whole peppers. A great tip for making sure your whole peppers don't fall over in the oven is to place them sitting in a muffin pan. Works great! This was the easiest and most delcious stuffed pepper recipe I have made! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
So Yummmy! I roasted red, yellow and green peppers for 15 minutes. I sauteed onion,garlic, and fresh basil, parsley and chives for 5 min then added small cut up pieces of chicken breasts. Let that sautee for 15 min also adding in cut up pieces of zucchini, brocolli, carrot, and 2 tomatoes. Added the feta and stuffed my pepps with this and topped with fresh grated parmesan cheese and cooked for the extra five minutes. (I did season rice mixture w/ sea salt, pepper, and paprika for some added spice) ABSOLUTELY delicious. Great base recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Colorful and tasty departure from your ordinary side dish. I used red, orange, yellow and green peppers, which made this particularly pretty and bright. I coated them lightly with olive oil and sprinkled them with sea salt and freshly ground pepper before roasting them for just 20 minutes, which was perfect. I cooked the arborio rice in chicken broth and a little butter, and added fresh minced garlic to the sauteed onions and herbs. Once mixed altogether with the chopped tomatoes, it looked like it could use a little color, so I threw in a handful of fresh, minced parsley. As for the feta, since hubs can't stand it I subbed some freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano instead (which he also doesn't like, but so be it). At this point I just put them back in the turned off oven until I got the rest of dinner plated and it worked out well. To finish, I gave them a light sprinkle of truffle sea salt. While not a masterpiece, it still was a healthy, tasty and pretty alternative to the routine vegetable/starch side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Love, love, love this recipe! I did make a few slight alterations. I cooked up fresh garlic with red onions, instead of green. I use fresh basil, when I have it. I ended up using a brown, medium grain rice since I did not have Arborio. To add extra moisture to the rice, I used a little vegetable broth. I also used a can of diced tomatoes, drained, in replace of the fresh tomato, which I also did not have at the time. I have made this at home many times, it is one of my 8 year old daughter's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Absolutely amazing!!! I made this for a dinner party of ten people and everybody loved it. I did change it a little. I used red peppers instead of green, Greek seasoning instead of Italian and added spinach to the filling. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
These were fantastic. I cut the salt in half and rubbed olive oil on the insides and outsides of the peppers before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
Delicious! I used a short-grain white rice that was a lot less expensive than arborio; it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
These were great, and they were so much better than the usual stuffed peppers. I did a few things different. I added beef to half, I used yellow saffron rice, added garlic and used more feta. I also topped them with Mozzarella cheese. GREAT! I will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deineria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This recipe was really good. There were a couple of things that I did differently--first I used a yellow and an orange pepper instead of green (I personally don't like the green ones). The time given was waaayyyy too long to cook it--I'd say halve the time. Also I added fresh garlic (as I'm garlic obsessed) and I had some pitted kalamata olives--they were really good in there! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States