Stuffed Peppers Italian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
For peppers we use Italian, Green and Red Bell from the garden. I have been eating these peppers since I was 6 years old. My Grandmother was Italian from Italy. My mother made them and now I make them. Recipe is basically the same only for olives we use oil cured Italian olives. We also add Capers,grated locatelli pecorino romano and sharp Provolone cheese to the mixture. Some of the peppers we add chopped Pepperoni to. We never bake them. We cut the stem off in a small round circle remove all seeds then stuff the pepper whole then use a piece of the loaf of bread tucked into the pepper after stuffing to help hold the stuffing in. We then brown them on all sides and the bottom in olive oil. After browning we add chopped Garlic to the olive oil until browned then Oregano, Red Chianti then add our tomato or pizza sauce and cover with a lid until done spooning the sauce on top about every 10 minutes. Then we remove from the pan put in a baking dish and add provolone and Mozzarella cheese on top and put under the broiler until cheese is browned. Never any leftovers in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ93
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I followed a lot of the advice of "JohnMonihan", the first reviewer for this recipe. (Thanks John!). I added oregano, fresh parmesan (inside and as a garnish) and a little parsely on top (see photo). These flavors added to the taste and presentation of the dish. I also used a bit more olives than called for, and used anchovy paste rather than actual anchovies. The taste of the anchovies is pretty much non-existant so don't be afraid to use it. It just adds a slightly salty flavor that really enhances the dish. As for the bread, I cubed mine but will run it in my food processor next time. Make a bit more than you think you need as it shrinks while you are cooking it. This wasn't a life-altering side dish, but it was really good and I would certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Just like my Italian grandma used to make......except....black olives instead of green, went heavier on the olive oil, onion & garlic. Added approx 1/4 c parmesan also. Stuffed whole cubanelles as she did. Took me back to my childhood - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was a very nice recipe for stuffed peppers. I did however make changes based on preference. I used the sausage, oregano and basil as others recommended. The other big difference in my recipe is that I decided to use cooked white rice instead of the bread. I know the bread would be more Italian, but we love rice in our household! The rest of the recipe stayed the same and it turned out delicious! One hint for making stuffed peppers that I use to shorten the cooking time, is to take the tops off the peppers and then parboil them for 10 minutes or so. This speeds up the baking time and you can boil the peppers while preparing the stuffing. My cooking time in the oven was about 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This was a ok at best. It took forever to cook and the end result was not as good as I had expected it would be. I mean it tasted good, but not as good as I would have thought it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great with changes in my notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I guess I'm missing something that everyone else loved about these, because I didn't like them at all. They were way too dry and the flavors did not mesh together well. Even with the onions and garlic, they were pretty bland, except for the overwhelming taste of olive. We love anchovies and you could hardly tell there were any in these peppers. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Greast recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is a good recipe, but no one in our family likes anchovies! I came across this recipe because we all miss my MIL's stuffed peppers now that she's gone and this was the closest to it I could find. I added some pepperoni and soppresata (dry sausage), which my mother in law taught me to "boil in a little water to get out some of the fat" and then chop into a super small dice. That way, there's some in every bite. I made it once without the "boil" and found that the pepperoni was like little hard nuggests - we prefer that it be boiled a little first - its softer in the finished pepper We get the "salt" flavor from this rather than the anchovies. Also, she always added some freshly grated Parmesan or Romano cheese to the mixture and regular black olives, chopped up, and ALWAYS used the day old Italian bread rather than boxed bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was pretty good, but there was something missing. Not sure what, though, because the olive/anchovy combination added a really nice flavor. I'll probably make these again, and see if some recipe modifications will improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States