Stuffed Pepperoncini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Pretty tasty, but I thought a bit too greasy. These also were a huge mess to make. I think I would probably do what others have suggested and cut the tops off instead. Not sure I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
These are delicious but take some fine tuning. It's helpful to drain extra juice from the peppers. A pastry bag works best when piping in the cream cheese mixture but would recommend putting the bacon through a food processor first. Make sure to use meaty bacon -- avoid the cheaper, fatty bacon. Oddly enough, we found that pretzels are good to have around with this because they cut the zing of the peppers. These make a great presentation on a white, square plate! Even my picky brothers loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Absolutely terrific! I put them on a antipasto platter with salami, pepperoni, black olives and provelone cheese. And just like the recipe says, I was asked for the receipe. My only suggestion is to prep your peppers first. I also cut the tops off the peppers and cleaned the seeds out. Then I allowed them to dry on a paper towel while I made the filling. I loved this receipe, it's a lot of work but very well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I brought these to a party and people couldn't stop talking about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Once prepared, I sampled the filling and it tasted like bacon grease. The instructions never called for draining the grease before adding the shallot and bell pepper mixture to the cream cheese, but you should. If there is a way to omit the overwhelming taste of lard from this recipe, I'm sure it would taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
My husband loved these, but boy were they messy to prepare. Given that one minor problem, once I got the hang of it, they went ok. I bought a pastry bag and will be trying that method this week so wish me luck! The taste was delicious and I will also be using cherry tomatoes for anyone that might not like the taste of the pepperoncini. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This made me VERY popular at a family picnic this past weekend. Remember, everything's better w/ bacon! I tried two different brands of pepperoncini . . . Vlassic and Cento. The Vlassic peppers were BIG, mild and very vinegar-y. They had the typical Vlassic dye to them, very bright, stains everything! The Cento peppers were smaller and had a bit more bite to them. I think I liked the cento peppers better since the smaller peppers (while being more difficult to fill) had just the right amount of the sourcream mixture in there. I also just sliced the tops off vs slitting them down the center. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This is a great garden pepper recipe. It worked just as well with fresh picked Aneheim, Sweet Banana, Hungarian Wax and Yellow Bell peppers. One guest took the left over stuffing home with her. The dish was different, but a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Very good recipe! The only thing I changed was I didn't cut a slice down the side to pipe in the cream cheese mixture. I cut the cap of the pepperoncini halfway off, piped the mixture into the pepper using a pastry bag and wide hole tip, and stuck the cap back on. They looked much tastier and neater that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
These were a great addition to my Christmas lunch! Even the kids ate them. I used some smaller chilis that I had in the refrig, so I had extra filling. I put it in a serving dish and used it as a spread for crackers. Definitely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Stuffed Jalapeño Firecrackers

What's cooking in Fort Worth? Delicious stuffed-jalapeño poppers, of course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States